Political Science

Congressional Quarterly is a highly-respected weekly journal on legislation and politics in Congress. Provides considerable analysis, behind-the-scenes information, comparisons of similar bills, and roll call votes. CQ Weekly on the web includes access to the full text of all articles published since 1983. Earlier issues are in the Graduate Library stacks (JK 1 .C12)

Provides speeches, executive orders, proclamations, inaugural addresses and even presidential debate and party platform information.

Member profiles includes speeches

Large collection of public statements and press releases from public officials and candidates, both nationally and at the state level and for various offices.

Scholarly coverage of all aspects of American politics, covering such topics as climate change, terrorism, welfare policies, nuclear proliferation, voting behavior, and think tanks. Each entry includes a bibliography.

Detailed, non-partisan summary of major legislation in each year. Provides behind-the-scenes information, identifies key features of extensive legislation, and major players. Searchable and browsable. Includes a policy tracker of related articles

Congressional procedures, biographies, interest group ratings, and roll call votes (equivalent to CQ Guide to Congress and Politics in America). Unique in its capability to analyze members of Congress by personal characteristics (party, state, occupation, religion) as well as voting patterns and party unity scores.

Text of selected Supreme Court decisions, 1791-1968; all decisions 1969+. Each case comes with an analysis, related cases, and relevant background readings. Biographies of all court justices and ability to analyze alignments or rulings on particular subjects.

Print volumes with biographies of each governor, Representative, and Senator with key votes, previous election results, lobby group ratings, and a detailed analysis of the geographic areas they represent.