Archaeology

Provides resources, strategies and information on conducting research in archaeology

Related Guides

Journal Collections

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals in the social sciences, arts & humanities
AnthroSource
Archive of journals published by the American Anthropological Association

Library Lab Evaluation

Please help us evaluate today's lab session by completing a short form.

Journal Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly articles in the field of archaeology

Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)
Now provided by EBSCO! Most comprehensive index of articles and monographs on anthropology, archaeology and anthropological linguistics. Covers over 2500 journals and books in series.

more... less...

Combines of two indexes: Anthropological Literature from Harvard's Tozzer Library and Anthropological Index from the Anthropology Library of the British Museum. The database covers all journal articles, reports, commentaries, obituaries, etc. at least two pages long in over 2,500 journals and monographic series. Covers the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
Indexes journals from late 19th century to present. Limited to 5 concurrent users. U-M only
Agricola
Database of literature on all aspects of agriculture, including paleobotany and archaeozoology.

more... less...

Created by the National Agriculture Library and cooperating institutions.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
This journal index includes the archaeology of man-made structures, with emphasis on Europe and the Middle East, from 1977 to the present.

more... less...

U-M only
BIAB: British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography
Index to books and journal articles from 1695 to the present on the archaeology of Britain and Ireland. From the Council for British Archaeology.

more... less...

U-M only
Dyabola
Includes three catalogs of publications on Roman art and archaeology, covering 1956 to the present. Includes subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt
Abstracts in Anthropology
Classified index and abstract of all four subfields of anthropology: cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics. Includes abstracts of site reports, analytical studies, and reports on field techniques and artifacts.

more... less...

Updated semi-annually. 2001- . U-M only
Humanities Abstracts (with Full Text)
A former Wilson Index, HA indexes 580 humanities journals, including archaeology and history, from 1984 to the present. To broaden your results, search Humanities Abstracts together with Social Sciences Abstracts and Humanities and Social Science Retrospective: 1907-1984.
Numismatic Literature
Worldwide index and abstracts of current publishing on coins and related materials, ancient to modern. Paper only: Grad Z 6866 .A1 N97, Current issues in Serials/Microforms Dept, 2nd floor, Graduate Library South

Web of Science
Covering 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines, the Web of Science Core Collection combines seven citation indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address.

Last Updated: Sep 30, 2025 1:01 PM

Subjects: Social Sciences