Archaeology

Encyclopaedia Britannica's latest article database (including hundreds of articles not found in the print edition), Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year (1994- ), with thousands of web links selected by editors.

The most complete and authoritative dictionary of the English language.

Over 125 dictionaries and thesauri, language reference, quotation, and subject-specific reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes subject reference works in the humanities, social sciences,

Combined access to Roget's International Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases (1922 ed.) and Roget's II: The New Thesaurus (3rd ed., 1995). Provides brief definitions of words, with lists of other words with synonyms and antonyms.

Comprehensive encyclopedia with close to 800 entries on historical archaeology, archaeological theory, field methods and techniques, and major excavations. 2nd ed., edited by Neil Asher Silberman. Oxford, 2012. Electronic only. Requires authentication.

Single-volume dictionary of archaeological terms, eras, sub-fields and major sites. Published by Blackwell, 1999, Ian Shaw and Robert Jameson, eds. Electronic only. Requires authentication.

Covers four major areas: archaeology as discipline, the practice of archaeology, a geographic overview of archaeology today, and archaeology in the everyday world. Deborah M. Pearsall, editor-in-chief. Elsevier, 2008. Electronic only. Requires authentication.

Lynn Meskell and Robert W. Preucel, eds. Wiley, 2006. Electronic version for University of Michigan affiliates only.

Comprehensive encyclopedia of terms relating to the evolutionary history of modern human populations. Wiley, 2011. Electronic version for University of Michigan affiliates only.

26-volume comprehensive encyclopedia for the social sciences.
Also in paper: Grad Reference, Shapiro Undergraduate Reference H 41 .I581 2001. Electronic version for University of Michigan affiliates only.

Database of about 80,000 plants used by native americans as food, drugs, dyes, fibers and more. Entries linked to USDA Plants Database.

Short essays on American Indian history, culture, government, people and groups. Brief Indian Nation histories.