Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Political Science

Find political science data, articles, encyclopedias, handbooks and information about quantitative and qualitative research methods along with information on writing dissertations, publishing, and non-traditional research methods like digital scholarship

Finding Books

Oxford Handbooks Online

Book Reviews

Book Reviews Several journal indexes allow users to limit their searches to book reviews, including Jstor (Expert and Advanced Searches), Proquest (Basic Search/Document Type), and Web of Science (all searches). All three indexes cover the American Political Science Review. The full text of the New York Times Book Review beginning 1980 appears in Lexis-Nexis Academic.
Book Review Digest Index to reviews of fiction and non-fiction books appearing in 100 periodicals published in the U.S., Canada and Great Britain. Begins in 1983 and adds reviews of over 7,000 adult and children's books each year.
UMich Only
Book Review Index Online An index to book reviews since 1965 that includes more then 5 million review citations from thousands of publications, including refereed journals, general interest publications, and newspapers.
UMich Only

Article Databases

Political Classics

Early American Imprints Searchable text of printed materials published in the United States 1639-1800 ( 1801-1819. (
UMich Only
Eighteenth Century Collections Online Searchable text of 150,000 books published between 1701 and 1800. For example, could search "Rights of Man" to identify reactions.
UMich Only
Past Masters Philosophical Texts Searchable and browsable full text of key philosophy works, primarily Thomas Hobbes, David Hume, John Locke and John Stuart Mill.
UMich Only