Anthony Davis’s X: The Life and Times of Malcolm X

Founded in 2001 as a project of the Rachel Barton Pine Foundation, a long-standing, anti-racist organization in classical music, MBC's mission is to help rectify historic and ongoing racial injustices in the classical music sphere.

Offers the first organized, openly accessible inventory of the musical examples in the first edition of The Music of Black Americans by Eileen Southern. It provides full-text open access to the complete scores of almost all of these examples, from sources in the collections of Harvard Library and nine other institutions.

The country's oldest organization dedicated to the preservation, encouragement, and advocacy of all genres of the music of Black Americans.

The Center for Black Music Research (CBMR) at Columbia College Chicago holds materials highlighting the role of Black music in world culture with materials originating or representing Black music in the United States, Africa, Europe, Latin America, and the Caribbean in a variety of formats.

A repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. Collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of Black radio. The AAAMC supports the research of scholars, students, and the general public by providing access to holdings which include oral histories, photographs, musical and print manuscripts, audio and video recordings, educational broadcast programs, and the personal papers of individuals and organizations concerned with Black music.

Organization supporting African American classical musicians and performing artists by promoting opportunities for Black classical musicians and others in the performing arts through arts performances, education, and outreach.

Formerly known as the National Black Music Caucus, an organization dedicated to promoting, performing, and preserving all facets of African American music. Its purpose is to further the development and dissemination of African American music through advocacy, education, and performance.

The Black Opera Research Network explores opera both inside and outside the traditional structures of the West. It aims to contribute to the expanding discourse on alternative operatic cultures; to advocate an inclusive, socially responsive and responsible critical scholarship; to facilitate dialogue between scholars, and between scholars and practitioners; and to develop and curate resources for teaching and research on black operatic activity around the world.

Seeks to empower Black classical artists and administrators by exposing systems of racial inequity and underrepresentation of the African diaspora in all facets of the industry and by challenging institutions to implement drastic reform through activism, utilizing social media, advocacy for Black professionals in opera board rooms, and working with local governments to ensure that Black professionals have an equal opportunity for success in opera.

A largely free online database of opera performances, opera houses and companies, and performers themselves as well as their agents. Documenting operatic activity worldwide since 1996, with over 500,000 performances on file, it records the work of artists in over 900 theatres and publishes season information in 31 languages.

The Institute for Composer Diversity works to encourage the discovery, study, and performance of music written by composers from underrepresented groups via three main areas of activity: databases, analysis, and action. Its databases have been created to allow the musical community to discover works by composers from underrepresented groups, its analyses study programming trends to provide evidence on where diverse programming is occurring and where it is needed, and ICD offers ideas toward more diverse and inclusive repertoire decisions.

Comprised of music creators from diverse backgrounds working to increase their visibility to industry producers and creatives via networking opportunities and performances as well as to offer education and mentorship to emerging composers in underserved communities. The Collective seeks to eliminate the industry’s challenge to find culturally diverse music creators, music supervisors, sound engineers and musicians; to increase members' awareness of each other; and to dispel misconceptions about the stylistic range of any minority composer.

A living collection containing over 1,000 entries of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day. Resources are organized chronologically and by genre and range from informal to scholarly in nature.

An initiative aiming to create a repository for the concert works of composers of the African Diaspora; to provide access to scores, recordings, and programmatic information about these composers and their extant works for students, teachers, professionals and presenters; to encourage the research, exploration and performance of these works; and to assist students who wish to enter the George Shirley African American Art Song and Operatic Aria Competition with appropriate repertoire choices.

An initiative that seeks to promote and uplift the contributions made by African Americans to art song; to encourage performance and scholarship related to African American art song; and to serve the needs of scholars, teachers, and performers seeking information about African American art song through sharing information about resources and repertoire.

Resource focusing on providing information about classically trained American singers and composers of African descent and on the vocal music forms they influenced, especially opera and art songs–including Negro spirituals composed for concert performance. Includes bibliographies, biographies of vocalists and composers, a chronology of major events and accomplishments by African American vocal musicians, and a list of libraries and research centers that house significant collections of resources by and about African American musicians.

A working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of Black composers. Non-idiomatic, as it relates to Black composers, refers to the original concert music that is not part of the traditional idiomatic canon associated with Black musicians. That canon includes spirituals, gospel, jazz, hip-hop, and rap among others.

Offers searchable access to recorded track information for concert Negro spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists. The resource contains a selection from a century of historic and contemporary concert spiritual recordings produced on compact discs, long-playing (33 1/3 rpm) albums, 78 rpm records, 45 rpm discs, audio cassettes, and streamed audio files, as well as demonstration recordings from musical score collections.

A concert and educational series dedicated to celebrating Black artistry and fostering cultural curiosity through music. From classrooms to concert halls, Castle of our Skins invites exploration into ​Black heritage and culture, spotlighting both unsung and celebrated ​figures of past and present.

Detroit-based national organization dedicated to transforming lives through the power of diversity in the arts. Its four program areas – Education & Access, Artist Development, Performing Artists, and Arts Leadership – seek to develop and support diversity and inclusion in classical music at every level: music education, artists performing on stage, the repertoire and programing being performed, the communities represented in audiences, and the artistic and administrative leadership within the field.

Recently established organization that aims to facilitate securing private lessons with a Black classical music educator and provides a community for Black classical music educators to locate and professionally engage with each other.

Presents the world of classical music through the eyes of Dalanie and Katie, two Black classical musicians on the rise looking to share their perspective with a new and interesting twist. Classically Black Podcast centers Black voices and challenges ideas of what the field of classical music looks like. Additionally, by including humor and references to popular culture, the hosts aim to make classical music more approachable to listeners who are not classically trained.