Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

Anthony Davis’s X: The Life and Times of Malcolm X

Provides resources to support further examination of the issues discussed at the symposium series, Anthony Davis’s X: The Life and Times of Malcolm X, hosted by the U-M School of Music, Theatre and Dance.

Books & Reference Resources

International Dictionary of Black Composers by Samuel A. Floyd, Jr., ed.
Call Number: ML 105 .I51 1999 (Reference)
Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians by Eileen Southern
Call Number: ML 105 .S73 (Reference)
Black Classical Musicians and Composers, 1500-2000 by Rodreguez King-Dorset
Call Number: ML 385 .K558 2019
Black Music Biography: An Annotated Bibliography by Samuel A. Floyd, Jr., Marsha J. Reisser
Call Number: Z 6814 .B63 F642 1987
Dictionary of Afro-American Performers: 78 RPM and Cylinder Recordings of Opera, Choral Music, and Song, c. 1900-1949 by Patricia Turner
Call Number: ML 156.2 .T871 1990
Bibliography of Black Music by Dominique-René de Lerma
Call Number: Z 6814 .B63 D35
Black Music in America: A Bibliography by JoAnn Skowronski
Call Number: ML 128 .B45 S66 1981 (Reference)
Music by Black Women Composers: A Bibliography of Available Scores by Helen Walker-Hill
Call Number: ML 128 .W7 W35 1995 (Reference)
Piano Music by Black Women Composers: A Catalog of Solo and Ensemble Works by Helen Walker-Hill
Call Number: ML 128 .P3 W35 1992 (Reference)
Keyboard Music of Black Composers: A Bibliography by Aaron Horne, comp.
Call Number: ML 128 .B45 H681 1992 (Reference)
String Music of Black Composers: A Bibliography by Aaron Horne, comp.
Call Number: ML 128 .B45 H73 1991 (Reference)
Woodwind Music of Black Composers by Aaron Horne, comp.
Call Number: ML 128 .W5 H65 1990 (Reference)
Brass Music of Black Composers: A Bibliography by Aaron Horne, comp.
Call Number: ML 128 .W5 H62 1996 (Reference)
From Spirituals to Symphonies: African-American Women Composers and their Music by Helen Walker-Hill
Call Number: ML 390 .W161 2002
Blacks in Classical Music: A Bibliographical Guide to Composers, Performers, and Ensembles by John Gray, comp.
Call Number: ML 128 .B45 G73 1988 (Reference)
The Music of Black Americans: A History by Eileen Southern
Call Number: ML 3556 .S73 1997
The Routledge Companion to African American Theatre and Performance by Kathy A. Perkins, Sandra L. Richards, Renée Alexander Craft, and Thomas F. DeFrantz, eds.
Call Number: PN 2270 .A35 R68 2019
Afrofuturism and Black Sound Studies: Culture, Technology, and Things to Come by Erik Steinskog
Call Number: ML 3556 .S865 2018
Singing like Germans: Black Musicians in the Land of Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms by Kira Thurman
Call Number: ML 3917.G3 T58 2021
Blacks in Opera: An Encyclopedia of People and Companies, 1873-1993 by Eric Ledell Smith
Call Number: ML 102 .O6 S61 1995 (Reference)
Blackness in Opera by Naomi André, Karen M. Bryan, and Eric Saylor, eds.
Call Number: ML 1700 .B53 2012
Black Opera: History, Power, Engagement by Naomi André
Call Number: ML 1700 .A53 2018
Dialogues on Opera and the African-American Experience by Wallace McClain Cheatham, ed.
Call Number: ML 1711.9 .C44 1997
Access, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Cultural Organizations: Insights from the Careers of Executive Opera Managers of Color in the US by Antonio Cuyler
Call Number: ML 406 .C89 2021
The Strange Career of Porgy and Bess: Race, Culture, and America's Most Famous Opera by Ellen Noonan
Call Number: ML 410 .G288 N66 2012
Just Tell the Story: Troubled Island: A Collection of Documents Previously Published and Unpublished, Pertaining to the First Significant Afro-American Grand Opera, Troubled Island by Judith Anne Still and Lisa M. Headlee, eds.
Call Number: ML 410 .S855 J87 2006
Music and Some Highly Musical People by James M. Trotter
The first comprehensive history of African-American musicians.

Text and Recorded Collections & Anthologies

Anthology of Art Songs by Black American Composers by Willis C. Patterson, comp.
Call Number: M 1619 .A62 198-
Art Songs by Black American Composers
Call Number: CDISC 16740
Accompanying sound recording for the first Anthology of Art Songs by Black American Composers by Willis C. Patterson.
The Second Anthology of Art Songs by African American Composers by Willis C. Patterson, comp.
Call Number: M 1619 .A622 2002
A New Anthology of Art Songs by African American Composers by Margaret R. Simmons and Jeanine Wagner, comps.
Call Number: M 1619 .N525 2004
African-American Organ Music Anthology by Mickey Thomas Terry, ed.
Call Number: M 7 .A26 2000
Piano Music of Africa and the African Diaspora by William H. Chapman Nyaho, ed.
Call Number: M 21 .P586 2007
Black Women Composers: A Century of Piano Music (1893-1990) by Helen Walker-Hill, ed.
Call Number: M 21 .B63 1992
Art Songs and Spirituals by African-American Women Composers by Vivian Taylor, ed.
Call Number: M 1619 .A78 1995
African American Music for the Classical Singer: Spirituals and Hymns by Evelyn Simpson-Curenton, comp. and arr.
Call Number: M 1670 .A26 2013
The New Negro Spiritual Collection by Willis C. Patterson, comp.
Call Number: M 1670 .N53 2002
The Oxford Book of Spirituals by Moses Hogan, ed.
Call Number: M 1670 .O97 2002
African Heritage Symphonic Series by Chicago Sinfonietta; Paul Freeman
Search results containing three volumes of sound recording series.
Where Freedom Rings: Compositions by Contemporary African American Composers
Call Number: [online via Naxos Music Library]
Amen!: African-American Composers of the 20th Century
Call Number: [online via Naxos Music Library]
American Voices: The African-American Composers' Project
Call Number: [online via Music Online: Classical Music Library]
The New American Scene II: 5 Distinguished African American Composers
Call Number: CDISC 04101
Sence You Went Away: Contemporary African American Art Songs & Spirituals
Call Number: CDISC 06635
Piano Music by African-American Composers
Call Number: CDS 629
But Not Forgotten: Music by African-American Composers for Clarinet & Piano
Call Number: CDISC 30626
Legacy: Violin Music of African-American Composers
Call Number: CDISC 29196
Violin Concertos by Black Composers of the 18th & 19th Centuries
Call Number: [online via Naxos Music Library]
Music for Cello and Piano by African-American Composers
Call Number: CDISC 11902

Last Updated: Jan 2, 2024 2:50 PM

Subjects: Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences

Tags: African Americans, Blacks, civil rights, Malcolm X, music