Scholarly Publishing

The U-M Library Copyright Office created this guide to help you understand copyright, fair use, proper citation, and how to request permission and use copyrighted materials.

How to obtain copyright permission particularly when using music, movies, & images.

Provides information about using copyright materials and publishing.

Explore information about library resources and services that support open access publishing.

Provides information about Creative Commons licenses, which allow you to share, reuse, and remix images, video, music, and other content.

A web guide for students who have questions about citing sources correctly. Provided by U-M.

Information on how to use library resources for citation analysis. This includes information about impact factors, journal rankings, altmetrics and how to find who has cited an article.

Ethics resources for individuals at the U-M College of Engineering, including how to keep a lab notebook; publishing resources for authors; how to locate and cite sources, and resources for avoiding plagiarism and complying with copyright laws.

Information about the National Institutes' Public Access Policy (NIHPAP) including how to comply and how to manage publications in eRA Commons using the My Bibliography portal in My NCBI.

Information about U-M's resources and services related to open research and scholarship

CSCAR provides individualized support and training to University of Michigan researchers in a variety of areas relating to the management, collection, and analysis of data.

The Clark Library provides assistance with statistics, data visualization, government information, and maps.

Deep Blue is the University of Michigan's Institutional Repository that provides a “permanent, safe, and accessible service” to collect the intellectual output of the University community.

The ELI Graduate Writing Clinic is free service open to all members of the U-M community, including international students, faculty, staff, and scholars. In Writing Clinic sessions, you will get help identifying your writing strengths and weaknesses, as well as guided self-help designed to help you become a critical, independent writer.

Michigan Publishing is the hub of scholarly publishing at the University of Michigan, and is a part of its dynamic and innovative University Library.

Open Michigan enables the University of Michigan community to make the products of its research, teaching, and creative work available to the world beyond campus. It is the home for all things open at the University of Michigan—including expertise and services for open educational resources, open data, and open publications.

ScholarSpace offers consultation services, workshops, and course-integrated instruction to help faculty, students, and staff develop digital literacy and design skills.

The Sweetland Center for Writing coordinates several student-led writing groups for graduate students writing their dissertations or theses. These interdisciplinary writing groups provide structured, peer-facilitated support to aid writers through long-term projects.

DOAJ is a database of reputable open access journals in all disciplines.

Lever Press is dedicated to born-digital, peer reviewed, open access monograph publishing. It is supported by a large group of liberal arts colleges.

SHERPA Juliet enables researchers and librarians to see funders' conditions for open access publication.

SHERPA/RoMEO is a searchable database of journal and publisher copyright policies.

Librarians in your subject area can help you work through the questions above and find other scholarship in your field. They may also be able to help you find discipline-specific resources on where to publish.

TOME (Toward an Open Monograph Ecosystem) is an initiative from the Association of American Universities, Association of Research Libraries, and Association of University Presses to advance the wide dissemination of scholarship by humanities and humanistic social sciences faculty members through open access editions of peer-reviewed and professionally edited monographs.