Example DMS Plans
- DMS Plan format page (Word Doc)Optional format page for preparing the plans required in applications subject to the Data Management and Sharing (DMS) and/or Genomic Data Sharing (GDS) policies for due dates on or after January 25, 2023.
- Annotated Example DMS PlanResource created by the ""NIH DMSP Guidance" Working Group", with more information and resources available at https://osf.io/uadxr/
- DMS Plan Checklist for ResearchersA checklist to help researchers create a complete DMS Plan.
- Example DMS Plans from NIHThe NIH provides links to some example DMS Plans.
- DMPToolThe DMPTool provides a click-through wizard for creating a DMP that complies with funder requirements.
National Institutes of Health - Data Management & Sharing Plan
On this page:
Policy Overview
NIH requires researchers to submit a Data Management and Sharing Plan (DMS Plan) with grant applications submitted on or after January 25, 2023. This policy applies to all research, funded or conducted in whole or in part by NIH, that results in the generation of scientific data.
NIH strongly encourages the use of established repositories to the extent possible for preserving and sharing scientific data.
Once a grant has been awarded, the DMS Plan becomes part of the award's terms and conditions. NIH expects researchers and institutions to implement data management and sharing practices as described in their approved Plan. Compliance with the DMS Plan, including any updates, may be reviewed during regular reporting intervals.
To learn more about the NIH Policy for Data Management and Sharing, please visit the links below or watch this short video overview of the policy. You can also watch NIH webinars about the new policy.
- Data Management & Sharing Policy OverviewA summary what is expected of investigators and institutions.
- Research Covered Under the Data Management & Sharing PolicyThis page from NIH provides details about what research activities the new DMS Policy applies to.
- Final NIH Policy for Data Management and SharingFrom October 2020. The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is issuing this final NIH Policy for Data Management and Sharing (DMS Policy) to promote the management and sharing of scientific data generated from NIH-funded or conducted research.
- FAQs - Data Management & Sharing PolicyFind answers from NIH to frequently asked questions about the new DMS policy here. Includes answers regarding the scope of the policy, managing and sharing scientific data, compliance, and more.
- List of NIH Institute and Center Data Sharing PoliciesMany institutes, centers, and research programs have instituted specific data sharing policies in addition to the trans-NIH policies. A list of NIH institute and center data sharing policies is available here.
- Article: Ten simple rules for maximizing the recommendations of the NIH data management and sharing planby Sara Gonzales Matthew B. Carson, and Kristi Holmes. August 3, 2022. This article provides 10 key recommendations for creating a DMSP that is both maximally compliant and effective.
Writing a DMS Plan
A DMS Plan should include the following elements:
- Data Type
- Related Tools, Software and/or Code
- Standards
- Data Preservation, Access, and Associated Timelines
- Access, Distribution, or Reuse Considerations
- Oversight of Data Management and Sharing
See the box on the left for links to example DMS Plans.
General advice for writing a DMS Plan:
- Keep the information in your plan organized into the appropriate elements. E.g. Don't include information about the repository that will be used in the Data Type element.
- Try to avoid repeating or duplicating information within the plan.
- Do not include any URLs or links.
- Make sure there is information to address each required element, even if it's a statement indicating that it does not apply.
- The PI will likely be providing oversight of the DMS Plan, but additional lab or team personnel with data-related roles may be described in the Oversight element, too.
- Writing a Data Management & Sharing PlanNIH provides information about writing a DMS Plan, including required elements, example plans, and more.
- DMS Plan format page (Word Doc)Optional format page for preparing the plans required in applications subject to the Data Management and Sharing (DMS) and/or Genomic Data Sharing (GDS) policies for due dates on or after January 25, 2023.
- Supplemental Information to the NIH Policy for Data Management and Sharing: Elements of an NIH Data Management and Sharing PlanThis supplemental information outlines the Elements to be addressed in a DMS Plan within two pages or less.
- Selecting a Data RepositoryThis resource from NIH provides helpful information for choosing a data repository.
- Share DataThe "Share Data" tab on this guide provides more information about preparing data to be shared and identifying an appropriate repository for your data.
Budgeting for DMS Activities
The NIH announced that they will no longer require the use of the single DMS cost line item. Learn more...
The new DMS Policy allows researchers to budget for data management and sharing activities. Reasonable costs may be included in NIH budget requests for:
- Curating data
- Developing supporting documentation
- Formatting data according to accepted community standards, or for transmission to and storage at a selected repository for long-term preservation and access
- De-identifying data
- Preparing metadata to foster discoverability, interpretation, and reuse
- Local data management considerations, such as unique and specialized information infrastructure necessary to provide local management and preservation (for example, before deposit into an established repository)
- Preserving and sharing data through established repositories, such as data deposit fees
Costs must be incurred during the performance period.
- Budgeting for Data Management & SharingNIH provides information about budgeting for DMS activities and allowable costs.
- FAQ about BudgetingCheck out the "F. Budget/Costs" section of the FAQ page to see information from NIH about budgeting for DMS activities.
- Supplemental Information to the NIH Policy for Data Management and Sharing: Allowable Costs for Data Management and SharingThe National Institutes of Health (NIH) recognizes that making data accessible and reusable for other users may incur costs. To assist individuals and entities subject to the final NIH Policy for Data Management and Sharing, this supplemental information outlines categories of allowable NIH costs associated with data management and sharing.
- Extended Reference for Data Management and Sharing Plan ChecklistThis resource provides an in-depth description of what can be included for each section of a DMS Plan. It is intended for researchers who are preparing a DMS plan to accompany their grant application. This resource may also be useful to librarians, grants office or research support personnel for training or demonstration purposes.
Video - Overview of the NIH Data Management & Sharing Policy
- Slides: Overview of the New NIH Data Management & Sharing PolicyA PDF of the slides used during the video, providing an overview of the new NIH Data Management and Sharing Policy.
Webinars & Discussions about the new policy
Video description: Navigate Webinar: The New NIH Data Management & Sharing Policy. Originally presented to U-M research administrators on November 1, 2022. Slides that accompanied the webinar: 20221101_NIHPolicy_RAACNavigate
Video description: A Conversation with NIH: Diving Deeper into the new NIH Data Management and Sharing Policy. Originally presented by NIH in September 2022. Slides that accompanied the webinar: DMS Webinar Resource Slides (pptx).
Video description: A Conversation with NIH: Understanding the New NIH Data Management and Sharing Policy. Originally presented by NIH in August 2022. Slides that accompanied the webinar: DMS Webinar Resource Slides (pptx).
Video description: Dr. Lisa Federer presents an introduction to the NIH Policy for Data Management and Sharing which will take effect at the start of 2023. Originally presented by NNLM in February 2022.