Comic Books and Graphic Novels

Examines the evolution of comic books into graphic novels and the distinct development of this art form both in America and around the world. This Companion also explores the diverse subgenres often associated with it, such as journalism, fiction, historical fiction, autobiography, biography, science fiction and fantasy. Leading scholars offer insights into graphic novel adaptations of prose works and the adaptation of graphic novels to films; analyses of outstanding graphic novels, like Maus and The Walking Man; an overview which distinguishes the international graphic novel from its American counterpart; and analyses of how the form works and what it teaches, making this book a key resource for scholars, graduate students and undergraduate students alike.

130 essays covering graphic novels and core comics series that form today's canon for academic coursework and library collections, with a focus on the hero/superhero genre.

Includes over eighty essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels, including genres, time periods, foreign-language traditions, social relevance, and craftsmanship. A wide spectrum of other genres is also presented in critical format, ranging from the nationalistic, such as Japanese manga and African graphic novels, to the traditional, such as Westerns, science fiction, and the archetypal superhero genre and mythos. This set also provides insight into various aspects of the industry, from techniques such a lettering, inking, and illustration, to the production and distribution of graphic novels and the significance of comic book conventions, Issues of readership and literacy, library collection development, and censorship are also covered.

215 essays covering graphic novels and core comics series, focusing on the independents and underground genre, that form today's "canon" for academic coursework and library collections.

Covers over sixty-five well-regarded works of the manga medium, summarizing plots and analyzing the works in terms of their literary integrity and overall contribution to the graphic novel landscape.

The Encyclopedia of Black Comics, focuses on people of African descent who have published significant works in the United States or have worked across various aspects of the comics industry. The book focuses on creators in the field of comics: inkers, illustrators, artists, writers, editors, Black comic historians, Black comic convention creators, website creators, archivists and academics—as well as individuals who may not fit into any category but have made notable achievements within and/or across Black comic culture.

Comic book studies has developed as a solid academic discipline, becoming an increasingly vibrant and field in the United States and globally. A growing number of dissertations, monographs, and edited books publish every year on the subject, while world comics represent the fastest-growing sector of publishing. The Oxford Handbook of Comic Book Studies examines the history and evolution of the visual narrative genre from a global perspective, bringing together readable, jargon-free essays written by established and emerging scholars from diverse geographic, institutional, gender, and national backgrounds. In particular, the Handbook explores how the term “global comics” has been defined, as well the major movements and trends that drive the field. Each essay will help readers understand comic books as a storytelling form grown within specific communities, and will also show how these forms exist within what can be considered a world system of comics.

Palgrave Studies in Comics and Graphic Novels covers all aspects of the comic strip, comic book, and graphic novel, explored through clear and informative texts offering expansive coverage and theoretical sophistication. It is international in scope and provides a space in which scholars from all backgrounds can present new thinking about politics, history, aesthetics, production, distribution, and reception as well as the digital realm. All are rigorously peer-reviewed.

Collection of public domain comics from the golden and silver ages. Also includes fanzines, pulps, and magazines.

Contains free downloadable versions of public domain comics from the Golden Age.

Comics available through OverDrive/Libby at U-M (Restricted to current U-M students, faculty & staff)

The first ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will contain more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform. (Restricted to current U-M students, faculty and staff.)

To identify other online comics (and books about comics) in the library's collection, search the catalog for "comic books, strips, etc." and apply the Available Online filter.

The largest annual comics festival in Europe.

Contains over 1400 entries for cartoonists of color from around the world.

A guide to citing comics works in MLA format.

This site's goal is to catalog every comic, graphic novel, manga, creator, character and anything else that could possibly relate to the field of comics.

Dedicated to the preservation of First Amendment rights for members of the comics community.

An international bibliography of comic books, comic strips, animation, caricature, cartoons, bandes dessinees, and related topics. (Last updated in 2009.)

An academic forum which serves the interests of those involved in research, criticism and teaching related to comics art.

Diamond is a distributor of English-language comics, graphic novels, and related pop-culture merchandise. The site includes Previews - a catalog of soon-to-be-released comics and graphic novels. Articles, press releases and reviews are also found here.

A nonprofit, internet-based organization of international volunteers dedicated to building an open database covering all printed comics throughout the world.

a web journal dedicated to furthering comics scholarship in a variety of disciplines and theoretical perspectives.

The primary focus of this annotated bibliography is comics by self-identified Indigenous creators and publishers working in Canada and the United States. (Updated June 2022.)

An illustrated compendium of over 10,000 comic artists from around the world.

Contains fell-text search-engines for popular comics-related magazines, including: Amazing Heroes, The Comics Journal, Comics Scene, Comics Interview, Marvel Age, Comics Feature, The Comic Reader, FOOM, Hero Illustrated, and Wizard Magazine.

Catalog for PF's archive of mini-comics, comic fanzines, small press comics, newave comix and related items.

Contains entries for over 1400 cartoonists who identify as queer.