Practical Community Learning Project (PCLP)

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

Provide books, working papers, databases, and key tables with regard to social issues and health. UM user only.

Online World Bank publications covering health, nutrition and population

a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the creation, implementation, or study of health policy and the health care system. This collection offers full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to health policy, including: access, administration, economics, planning, reform, insurance, law, research, ethics, public health, and social medicine. The database features coverage of more than 300 full-text titles and indexing for more than 375 publications. Searchable cited references are also provided. UM user only.

Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973. Also included is the Global Health Archive, consisting of 800,000 records from 1910-1973.UM users only.

Information from the Federal government about HIV/AIDS prevention, testing, treatment, research, and using new media in response to HIV/AIDS.

Allows consumers to locate and compare private health insurance plans, hospitals and nursing homes, and provides information about the Affordable Care Act of 2010.

CDC links to vital statistics and records, "Health, United States," and other statistics by topic.

Health System Measurement Project tracks government data on critical U.S. health system indicators. The website presents national trend data as well as detailed views broken out by population characteristics such as age, sex, income level, and insurance coverage status.