Browse in Library Catalog Search
Browse by call number to see the relationship to similar materials as if they were on a library shelf. Browse by author to view an alphabetical list of author names. Browse by subject to find related, topical items.
Image of Library Catalog Search pull-down menu, with subject browse option highlighted.
Additionally, you can browse by subject by following links in a catalog record. When you display a complete catalog record of interest, look for the Subjects (LSCH) field. Next to the subject tag, there is a link to Browse in subject list. Click on that link to connect to the subject browsing list.
Image of a catalog record for a book, with the LCSH subject field and "browse subject list" link highlighted.
Your topic may be divided into sub-topics or may have related subject terms that you may consider. Clicking on the subject heading of interest will take you to the catalog search results for that subject.
Image of a catalog subject browse list, in alphabetical order, for the subject heading of "television and families."
Browse Databases or Online Journals
You may want to view databases or online journals subscriptions by broad subjects. You can also browse an alphabetical list of database titles or online journal titles. The browse technique is especially useful when you do not know the exact title of the database or online journal.
From the Library Database Search screen, click on the Browse all Databases for options to browse by exact database title or by broad subject areas (academic discipline).
Image of the Library Database Browse page, with clickable links to categories of online databases, by title or by academic discipline.
From the Library Online Journals Search screen, click on the Browse all Online Journals for options to view exact journal titles alphabetically or by academic discipline.
Image of the online journal browse list, with clickable links to alphabetical list of titles or to subject categories of titles.