Quick Links
- Shapiro Design LabYour go-to central campus resource hub for recording and editing audio, and getting consultative support for your podcasting or audio storytelling project.
- Library SearchResults include items from the Catalog, Articles, Databases, Online Journals, and Library Website pages.
- Catalog SearchResults include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
Books on Podcasting and Audio Storytelling
Out on the Wire: The Storytelling Secrets of the New Masters of Radio by ISBN: 9780385348430Publication Date: 2015-08-25A Library Journal Best Book of 2015 Go behind the scenes of seven of today's most popular narrative radio shows and podcasts, including This American Life and RadioLab, in graphic narrative. Out on the Wire offers an unexpected window into this new kind of storytelling—one that literally illustrates the making of a purely auditory medium.
Make Noise by ISBN: 9781523504558Publication Date: 2019-12-10"An interestingly idiosyncratic and personal vision of how to make podcasts."--Ira Glass Veteran podcast creator and strategist Eric Nuzum distills a career's worth of wisdom, advice, practical information, and big-picture thinking to help podcasters "make noise"--to stand out in this fastest of fastest-growing media universes. Nuzum identifies core principles, including what he considers the key to successful audio storytelling: learning to think the way your audience listens. He delivers essential how-tos, from conducting an effective interview to marketing your podcast, developing your audience, and managing a creative team. He also taps into his deep network to offer advice from audio stars like Ira Glass, Terry Gross, and Anna Sale. The book's insights and guidance will help readers successfully express themselves as effective audio storytellers, whether for business or pleasure, or a mixture of both.
So You Want to Start a Podcast by ISBN: 9780062936677Publication Date: 2019-08-06An inspiring, comprehensive, step-by-step guide to creating a hit show, So You Want to Start a Podcast covers everything from hosting and guest booking to editing and marketing - while offering plenty of encouragement and insider stories along the way.
Podcasting: The Do-It-Yourself Guide by ISBN: 0764597787Publication Date: 2005-06-10Listen up! Podcasting, which has taken the online world by storm, involves recording a broadcast and embedding it in an RSS feed so listeners can download it to their PCs, iPods, MP3 players, or phones. Written by one of the first and most popular podcasters, this book will have readers not only finding, downloading, and listening to podcasts, but creating and broadcasting their own.
The Podcaster's Manifesto by ISBN: 9781793550842Publication Date: 2022-08-26Audio is a unique medium for communication. It's intimate, immediate, immersive, and creators can produce it at home. In The Podcaster's Manifesto, Sarah Lemanczyk draws from her experience as one of the first professors in the United States to teach a dedicated podcasting course as part of a journalism curriculum. The book takes the mystery out of audio: what makes it different, where its challenges lie, and what makes it such an enticing medium to work in. The book prepares readers to participate in the audio world by introducing them to terminology, equipment, and best practices, and then demonstrating how to put it all together to create audio that is impactful, engaging, and rich--audio that people will listen to. Dedicated chapters help readers find their voice, write for the ear, edit audio, set up a home studio, pitch a podcast, and more. Written in an easy, humorous style, The Podcaster's Manifesto is an exemplary resource for programs and courses in communication, especially those with emphasis in audio and podcasting. It is also an invaluable resource for any individual interested in developing their own podcast.
Podcasting with Youth by ISBN: 9781440870354Publication Date: 2020-06-03Learn how to set up a student-led podcast in your library, involve staff from several subject areas, market effectively, what challenges you are likely to face, and how podcasting will benefit the students and school overall. Podcasting from the library is a growing movement. Podcasting with Youth teaches librarians and educators how to set up, develop, market, and deliver a successful youth-led podcast from their library. Putting youth in control when interviewing authors and other guests develops their leadership and technical skills and brings new users to the library to engage in a unique library activity. This program can be set up relatively cheaply, and readers will learn how to use the technology required to deliver a podcast. Sound recording equipment, microphones, mixers, and audio files may be intimidating to some librarians and educators; this book quells those fears by explaining the technology in a straightforward, how-to manner. It also includes student input on what podcasters have learned, the challenges they have faced, and their plans for the future. Author Lucas Maxwell offers many helpful tips to librarians who want to learn how to create a program that puts students in charge and allows them to produce a tangible product that their peers will be interested in. Offers practical information on how to set up your own youth-led podcast in your library, including equipment to purchase, potential pitfalls, and marketing strategies Features examples of high/middle school library podcasts from around the world Includes appendices of useful books and other material related to podcasting and using related technology in the library
Reality Radio by Call Number: PN 1991.8 .D63 R43 2010ISBN: 0807833576Publication Date: 2010-03-15Reality Radio celebrates today's best audio documentary work by bringing together some of the most influential and innovative practitioners from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia. In these nineteen essays, documentary artists tell—and demonstrate, through stories and transcripts—how they make radio the way they do, and why. Whether the contributors to the volume call themselves journalists, storytellers, even audio artists—and although their essays are just as diverse in content and approach—all use sound to tell true stories, artfully.
Sound Reporting: The NPR Guide to Audio Journalism and Production by Call Number: PN 4784 .R2 K47 2008ISBN: 0226431770Publication Date: 2008-07-01Perhaps you've always wondered how public radio gets that smooth, well-crafted sound. Maybe you're thinking about starting a podcast, and want some tips from the pros. Or maybe storytelling has always been a passion of yours, and you want to learn to do it more effectively. Whatever the case whether you re an avid NPR listener or you aspire to create your own audio, or both.
The Art of Voice Acting by ISBN: 0415736978Publication Date: 2014-07-17From basic acting techniques and exercises for keeping the voice in top condition, to marketing and promotion of the actor, The Art of Voice Acting covers it all. Complete with a companion website and QR codes that link directly to additional material such as audio for every script included in the book, more exercises, and voice relaxation techniques, this is the complete package that gives voiceover actors, and those in related fields, a clear, no-nonsense introduction to the business and art of voice acting.
Saving New Sounds by ISBN: 0472901249Publication Date: 2021-07-19Over seventy-five million Americans listen to podcasts every month, and the average weekly listener spends over six hours tuning into podcasts from the more than thirty million podcast episodes currently available. Yet despite the excitement over podcasting, the sounds of podcasting's nascent history are vulnerable and they remain mystifyingly difficult to research and preserve. Podcast feeds end abruptly, cease to be maintained, or become housed in proprietary databases, which are difficult to search with any rigor. Podcasts might seem to be highly available everywhere, but it's necessary to preserve and analyze these resources now, or scholars will find themselves writing, researching, and thinking about a past they can't fully see or hear. This collection gathers the expertise of leading and emerging scholars in podcasting and digital audio in order to take stock of podcasting's recent history and imagine future directions for the format. Essays trace some of the less amplified histories of the format and offer discussions of some of the hurdles podcasting faces nearly twenty years into its existence. Using their experiences building and using the PodcastRE database--one of the largest publicly accessible databases for searching and researching podcasts--the volume editors and contributors reflect on how they, as media historians and cultural researchers, can best preserve podcasting's booming audio cultures and the countless voices and perspectives podcasting adds to our collective soundscape.
Blogs, Guides, and Communities of Practice
- The Audacity to PodcastA popular podcast that provides guidance and support to folks looking to launch or improve their own podcast.
- Bello CollectiveThe Bello Collective's goal is to bring together writers, journalists, and other voices who share a passion for the world of audio storytelling.
- A Gazillion Podcasting ResourcesAn impressively robust (if loosely organized) list of resources covering just about any podcast-adjacent topic you could think of. Continuously added to by the folks at The Podcast Host.
- A Guide to Centering Marginalized People in Your PodcastFrom Juleyka Lantigua-Williams, one of the creators of 70 Million podcast.
- A Guide to Academic PodcastingThis guide is an open educational resource for anyone interested in academic podcasting, developed by the Amplify Network, an SSHRC-funded partnership between Simon Fraser University’s Publishing program and Digital Humanities Innovation Lab (DHIL), Wilfrid Laurier University Press (WLU Press), Wilfrid Laurier University Library (WLUL), and The Documentary Media Society.
- MultitudeMultitude is a podcast production company that has a variety of resources for podcasters of all skill levels on their site. People who identify as part of an underrepresented group can also request a free consultation with Multitude staff.
- New Producer ResourcesThis crowdsourced document is a list of resources for new audio producers, including workshops, email lists, prizes, and more.
- NPR Podcasting GlossaryA glossary of podcasting terms from NPR.
- The Podcaster's StudioGood source of articles and tutorials on all things podcasting.
- Podcast.Love Podcastrs' GlossaryGlossary from the website Podcast.Love
- Podcasting Resources & Tools For Every Level from Podcast InsightsNicely organized list of resources that skews more toward the hosting, distribution, and analytics side of things.
- TransomTransom is a long-established and well-respected pioneer in the field of audio storytelling, and their website is full of great instructional guides, examples of great audio narratives, and links to other helpful resources.
- How to start a PodcastThis resource features a how-to-guide for podcasting with weekly updates about different genres and themes in media production.
- Podcast Industry GlossaryGlossary of podcasting terms from Sounds Profitable
Podcasts About Podcasting
Podcasts About Podcasting
There are lots of podcasts out there about making a podcast. What you'll find below are a number of shows dedicated to the craft of audio storytelling, including shows that focus on everything from interviewing techniques to equipment to getting your. . podcast heard. Many of them also feature interviews with podcast producers that can inspire you to make your own work.
- HowSound
- A podcast dedicated to audio storytelling from PRX and Transom and hosted by Rob Rosenthal.
- The Turnaround
- Jesse Thorn talks to some of the best interviewers in radio, television, and more about the art and craft of a good interview.
- Out on the Wire
- The companion podcast to Jessica Abel's graphic novel about public radio storytelling, Out on the Wire.
- For Your Ears Only
- The companion podcast to Podacsting: The Audio Media Revolution, by Martin Spinelli and Lance Dann.
- The Big Listen
- Show from WAMU and NPR about making and listening to podcasts.
If you've found a podcast particularly helpful, please send us a note at shapirodesignlab@umich.edu.
Finding More Using Library Catalog Search
U-M Library Catalog Search
Catalog Search is the definitive place for finding materials held by the U-M Library. Results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
Search Tips
It can be useful to employ Boolean operators to narrow your search results:
AND - only return results that include X AND Y
OR - include results that include just X, just Y, and both
NOT - exclude results with any instance of X
* - (wildcard) captures variations of search terms (e.g. a search for (teach*) would return teach, teaches, teaching, teacher, teachers)
"" - placing a term in quotes returns only results that include the whole phrase as typed
() - use parentheses to order your operators (which operators should the search engine pay attention to first?)
Putting it Together
Example query: (podcast* AND (tool* OR "recording equipment" OR gear)) NOT advertising
This search would return results that include ALL of the following:
1. A variation of the word "podcast" such as podcast, podcasts, podcaster, podcasting
2. One or more of the following: a variation of 'tool,' the uninterrupted term "recording equipment," or the word 'gear'
3. No instance of the word, 'advertising'
***Some search engines have different wildcards (like the * described here) or lack them entirely. OR, AND, and NOT are fairly universal, however, as are the "" and ()