Library Contact
Online Reference
- Reference encyclopedia of the American Indian - 2015The first section of the book contains the source listings, presenting names, addresses, and often leaders of the tribal organizations across the United States. The resource provides similar information for Canada. The second section is the bibliography, which contains citations for 4500 in-print titles. Separate lists by subject follow, and there is also a listing of publishers of Indian titles.
Searching Tips
Over the years different terms have been used to represent people Indigenous to a specific area, when searching try using different keywords in your search. Please see the Indigenous Terminology tab for more in-depth resources.
Commonly used in American Based Content:
- Native American, American Indian, Indigenous
- Alaskan Native
- Pacific Islanders, Hawaii Natives
Commonly used in Canadian Based Content:
- Native, First Nations, Aboriginal, First Peoples
- Inuit
- Metis
Library Databases
- American Indian History Online This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. 320+ Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, maps and charts, and photographs. Updated semiannually.
- American Indian Histories and Culture This link opens in a new windowThe wide range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. Sourced from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection, one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.
- American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism This link opens in a new windowA digital archive of FBI files that illustrate the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Sourced from the FBI Library, this collection includes 14,195 pages. Documents range in date from 1968 to 1979
- American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIndigenous journalism from communities in the United States and Canada, 1828 to 2016.
- American West This link opens in a new windowDraws from the Newberry Library's Graff Collection. Can be cross-searched with American Indian Histories and Culture.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowBibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA ) provides citations to books, essays, journal articles and government documents of the United States and Canada. BNNA covers all aspects of native North American culture, history and life.
This is the only database available that specifically indexes secondary literature across disciplines dealing with native North American life and culture. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowA full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Includes more than 100,000 articles in Spanish and over 400,000 in English
- Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new windowArchive of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, periodicals and photographs on native North Americans.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowThis database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.
North American Indian Thought and Culture contains around 120,000 pages of text and images, including biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched thoroughly. Full-length reference works also are included to give background and context to the narratives.
Related Guides
Acknowledgement
I would like to acknowledge that the University of Michigan resides on the traditional Territories of the Three Fire Peoples - the Ojibwe, Odawa, and Bodewadmi. As we work, live, and play on these territories we must keep in mind the ongoing effects of colonization, communities' struggle for self-determination, colonial state violence, and the recognition of Indigenous sovereignty.
Last Updated: Nov 18, 2024 1:30 PM