Quick Links
- Art Source with Art Index RetrospectiveA comprehensive resource for art information featuring full text of over 750 periodicals and indexing back to 1929.
- U-M Library Articles SearchUse Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
- ARTstorProvides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
- Citation LinkerUse this when you already have a complete citation but just need to find the full text.
- Fine Arts LibraryProvided is basic information about the library such as current hours, staffing, maps, and accessibility.
- JSTORProvides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- U-M Library Catalog SearchCatalog Search results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
- U-M Library SearchUse Library Search to see results from the catalog, articles, databases, online journals and library website pages.
Periodicals and Journals
These journals are dedicated to the art history discipline. They inlcude articles related to a wide variety of art history subjects.
- The Art BulletinPublished by the College Art Association
- Art HistoryPublished by Basil Blackwell
- Revue de l'ArtPublished by the Comité français d'histoire de l'art
- ARC MagazineArtists Nadia Huggins and Holly Bynoe publish this biennial Caribbean arts culture magazine. It features works from the emerging and established artist.
- Jamaica JournalThis academic journal is published quarterly and produces scholarly articles on art, history, music, and Jamaican culture.
- CAA. ReviewsThis resource publishes timely scholarly and critical reviews of studies and projects in all areas and periods of art history, visual studies, and the fine arts, providing peer review for the disciplines served by the College Art Association.
Interlibrary Loan
If you are unable to find the article you need through U-M Library try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan obtains items that are not available at the University of Michigan Library for the study and research of the University's patrons, including: books, dissertations, and microforms, copies of periodical articles or short sections of books.
Help!
Need more help? Try contacting:
Finding Articles - General Databases
Databases and indexes are the best places to find the articles you need. Databases and indexes are collections of articles that you can search by topic, subject, author, etc. Once you have completed your search, look for the phrase "Availability at U-M" or the "MGet It" button in order to access the article.
The following links are for general databases and indexes. These databases and indexes can be searched for the specific topic you are looking for (Michelangelo, Picasso, Japanese sculpture, etc.).
- Library Articles SearchLibrary Articles Search provides full-text access to electronic journal articles in a variety of subjects including history of art.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowfeatures more extensive biographies on Jamaican artists. Many influential Jamaican artists, such as Edna Manley, Kapo, and David Boxer have entries. This daily updated database of biographies offers media rich content in context and boasts 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. 50,000 new or updated biographies are added annually.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThis monthly updated, cross-searchable database combines: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender. The scope ranges from 1827 to present and offers full text of scholarly essays, magazines, and historical newspapers.
- Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new windowSearches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowProvides citations drawn from more than 400 journals, primarily in Spanish or English, which cover Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles on Africa and African Diaspora theater and dance.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseThis database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals, covering a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry. Included are dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
- Project MuseFull-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities.
- Proquest Research LibraryIndexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.
Finding Articles - Art History Databases
A comprehensive list of U-M Library's databases and indexes that relate to the humanities and more specifically art history can be found on Library Search.
The following databases and indexes are a good place to start your research.
- Art Source with Art Index RetrospectiveCovers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
- Art Source with Art Index RetrospectiveCovers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
- ARTBibliographies Modern (ABM)This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s onwards
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA & RILA)These citation databases, searchable together, cover history of art material published between 1975 and 2007. Articles are taken from over 1200 journals, exhibition catalogues, theses and dissertations. Material published after 2007 is available through other U-M Library journal databases.
- Humanities AbstractsIndexes and abstracts articles from more than 300 humanities publications. Each record contains a bibliographic citation for an article, book review, or other item in a journal. Full text is included for many articles.
- IBZ (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)IBZ is a multilingual bibliography that indexes over 8,700 periodicals primarily in the arts, humanities and social sciences. To access, select "Go to Databases," then "Bibliographies," then IBZ.
- Oxford Art OnlineOnline version of the comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes 41,000 articles and 10,000 color images.
- OmniFile Full Text SelectOmniFile Full Text, Select Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text for all full text articles from 2,700+ different journals and periodicals included in 11 databases formerly published by H. W. Wilson Company.
- PASCAL and FRANCIS This link opens in a new windowIndexes 4,200 European-language journals in science, technology, medicine, humanities & social sciences, 1972-2015.
Finding Dissertations
For information regarding access to dissertations please use the resource Acquiring U.S. Dissertations from the Library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
You may also want to visit the following sites:
- Proquest Dissertations & ThesesDescriptions, sometimes with full text, of doctoral dissertations & master theses from US, UK, Canada, Ireland, etc.
- Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions (Big Ten Universities) This link opens in a new windowDescribes dissertations and some master theses filed at CIC/Big Ten universities, with full text for most since 1997.
Fine Arts Library
-
260 Tappan Hall
855 S. University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1357
855 S. University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1357
-
734 764 5405 (p)
-
Last Updated: Oct 8, 2024 8:40 PM