Caribbean Art and Visual Culture

A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full text of over 750 periodicals and indexing back to 1929.

Use Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.

Now part of JStor, provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.

Now part of JStor, a Research Guide developed by Artstor with helpful suggestions for finding and using images across disciplines.

Provided is basic information about the library such as current hours, staffing, maps, and accessibility.

Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Catalog Search results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.

Use Library Search to see results from the catalog, articles, databases, online journals and library website pages.

As far as the eye/I can see is a project that shares artist's visions, voices and vantage points, a space where critics offer perspectives on current exhibits and critical debates in contemporary visual art and culture.

The Cuban Photograph Collections include over 5,000 photographs which span a wide range of historical topics related to Cuba and the Cuban Diaspora.

The Cuban Postcard Collection is a continuously growing collection of postcards of Cuba and the Cuban experience outside of Cuba produced from the turn of the 20th century to the present.

Approximately 1,850 photographs shot in Cuba between 1963 and 1964 and processed by Alberto Korda on the island.

Primarily consists of photographs of Panama and the Panama Canal Zone during construction, beginning in 1914

Hundreds of photographs and prints, in albums and rare published volumes, present the territories and countries associated with Portugal and Spain in the New World, from Mexico to Argentina, and parts of the Caribbean.

The Manuel R. Bustamente Photograph Collection consists primarily of over 600 black and white photographs of Cuba from the early 1900s to the 1930s.

Includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka’s partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides.

Online access to over 500,000 photos with detailed captions from the AP news wire. Includes all photos from US and abroad added in the previous 365 days (800 per day) plus many selected older photos from 1844 to the present. Updated continuously.

ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields.

OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online - is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

A steadily growing digital image sampler from the George Eastman House holdings.

An online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums - more than 32,000 artworks from 46 collections - including the Tate Gallery, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and the Uffizi, Florence.

Browsable and searchable database of LACMA's high resolution images.

The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.

Access to over 250 text, image, and finding aid collections that provide access to over a million digital objects.

Collections of digitized images of artworks, cultural and historical artifacts, etc., from museums and other sources maintained by the U-M Library.

Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Search over six million records with 536,000 images, video and sound files and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives, and libraries.

V&A Images is a high quality, versatile picture agency. The ever-expanding image collection includes almost everything imaginable in the fine and decorative arts.

Helpful information from ARTStor on how to cite images.