Research Guides: Social Work: Program Evaluation: Web Resources

Other Evaluation Resources

American Evaluation Association
This organization has information on their web site on program evaluation, including newsletters, links of interest, links to evaluation course syllabi, links to their listserv, links to evaluation blogs, and more.
American Evaluation Association Library
A wide range of resources on evaluation posted by association members.
California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare
The CEBC provides information on select screening and assessment tools that may be commonly used by staff in the child welfare system in order to help child welfare agencies evaluate the research supporting each tool.
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, Evaluation Resources
Offers guidance on creating effective program evaluations, especially in public health. Includes some examples of evaluations.
Children, Youth, and Families At-Risk (CYFAR)
An evaluation website that offers interactive tools and vetted resources designed to build the evaluation capacity of program providers, practitioners, and evaluators, especially those working with at-risk youth and families. Includes a searchable collection of evaluation instruments.
more...less...
CYFER = Children, Youth, and Families At Risk
Data Playbook
A toolkit to help users understand and best utilize data.
Evaluation Activities in Organizations - Free Management Library
A business management site which collects useful links on specific topics. This site offers many links providing overviews related to various types of evaluation, guidelines to program evaluation and general resources.
Evaluation Flash Cards
One-page explanations of twenty-five core concepts in evaluation.
Candid: Measure Results
This collection includes suggested readings from BetterEvaluation, the Center for Evaluation Innovation, the Center for Effective Philanthropy, and Grantmakers for Effective Organizations as well as hand-picked content by Candid. Thousands of actual evaluations are available for download.
Robert R. McCormick Foundation Program Evaluation Guide
A brief, 21-page guide to program evaluation for non-profits.
Western Michigan University Evaluation Center
The Evaluation Center site offers downloadable evaluation checklists, models of evaluation and other tools which have been peer-reviewed.

Government Resources

Bureau of Justice Assistance Center for Program Evaluation
Bureau of Justice Assistance provides simple tools to help Criminal Justice practitioners improve their program evaluation knowledge and help them plan and implement better program evaluations.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention - A Framework for Program Evaluation
The Framework for Evaluation in Public Health guides public health professionals in their use of program evaluation. It is a nonprescriptive tool designed to summarize and organize essential elements of program evaluation.
CDC - Introduction to Program Evaluation for Public Health Programs: A Self-Study Guide
A self-study manual aimed at public health workers involved in program evaluation. The manual was published in October, 2011.
Child Welfare Information Gateway - Evaluating Prevention Programs
Includes Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention/Family Support Programs and Postadoption Services Programs logic model builder tool to help evaluate program outcomes in child welfare.
Program Evaluation Briefs - CDC
A list of 23 1 - 2 page introductory guides created by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Evaluation Research Team. Topics include data collection, qualitative and quantitative analysis, focus groups, questionnaires and many other useful tips. Most guides includes a bibliography for further help.
The Program Manager's Guide to Evaluation, 2nd ed., 2010
The Administration for Children and Families provides an online guide to program evaluation; how to understand it and how to accomplish it. This 111-page implementation guide also includes a glossary, toolkit, bibliography and may other resources for program evaluators.
U.S. Government Accountability Office Program Evaluation: Key Terms and Concepts
This glossary highlights different types of evaluations for answering questions about program performance, as well as relevant issues to ensure study quality.
Michigan Department of Education Program Evaluation Tool
"The
Program Evaluation Tool can be used both during implementation to make mid-course corrections as well as
following implementation to identify why results turned out as they did and how to improve implementation that
will lead to increased student achievement."

Using Logic Models for Evaluation

The Pell Institute and Pathways to College Network has developed and Evaluation Toolkit . This resource is aimed at evaluators interested in measuring and evaluating program outreach for underserved students preparing for postsecondary education such as low-income, first-generation students or students with disabilities.

This toolkit includes the following training sections, listed below.

Pell Institute Evaluation 101
Basic information and suggested additional resources on the myths and benefits of evaluation.
Pell Institute Evaluation Guide
A tutorial with detailed information to help organizations develop an evaluation plan, collect data, analyze data and communicate results for improvement.
Pell Institute Evaluation Examples
Links to several evaluations related to outreach programs for at risk students and higher education.
Logic Models, CDC Program Performance & Evaluation Office
As part of the CDC website on program evaluation, this section includes explanations and guidance on building a logic model.
Program Development & Evaluation, Univ. of Wisc., Division of Extension
Includes templates, examples, and a bibliography.

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2024 4:32 PM

Subjects: Social Sciences

Tags: evaluation, social work