Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Advocacy and Policy Change Evaluation: Theory and Practice by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781503602335Publication Date: 2017Part I provides a conceptual foundation for navigating advocacy tactics within today's turbulent policy landscape. Part II offers recommendations for developing appropriate evaluation designs and working with unique advocacy and policy change–oriented instruments. Part III turns toward opportunities and challenges in this growing field. In addition to describing actual designs and measures, the chapters includes suggestions for addressing the specific challenges of working in a policy setting, such as a long time horizon for achieving meaningful change.
Encyclopedia of Research Design by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781412961288Publication Date: 2010The Encyclopedia of Research Design explains how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results.
Evaluation Essentials, Second Edition by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781462532452Publication Date: 2017This book describes how to articulate answerable evaluation questions, collect and analyze data using both quantitative and qualitative methods, and deal with contingencies that might alter the traditional sequence of an evaluation. The text includes focus on individual, organizational, and community culture and emphasis on building collaborative relationships with stakeholders.
Handbook of Practical Program Evaluation by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781119171386Publication Date: 2015The Handbook of Practical Program Evaluation provides tools for managers and evaluators to address questions about the performance of public and nonprofit programs. This guide offers tools and processes to analyze program operations and outcomes.
The Library Catalog
Tips for Searching the Library Catalog
Use the U-M Library Catalog for finding books, DVDs and other materials.
- Basic Search lets you enter a few key words to get started. Once you have done a search, you can use the filters on the left side of the page to focus your results.
- Advanced Search allows you to refine your search even further by choosing a date range, language, format, and a specific library location or collection.
Click here for some recent books on program evaluation.
Combining Search Terms
Make sure you capitalize any connecter words (AND, OR, NOT) when searching or the catalog search will disregard the words and assume you want the words connected with AND.
For additional tips on database searching, try this page.
Terms for Finding Books on Program Evaluation
Plan before you search
Whether you are looking for books, searching the internet or trying to find scholarly articles about program evaluation think carefully about the words you use in your search. The clearer and more precise the words in your search, the more appropriate will be the results from that search.
When searching in any database or catalog, look for pre-defined index terms to focus your results. These are often called subject headings or descriptors. Here are a few examples of some useful descriptors for program evaluation.
- "Action research"
- "Best practices"
- "Cost-benefit analysis"
- "Program effectiveness"
- Evaluation
- "Evidence-based"
- "Feasibility studies"
- "Feasibility analysis"
- Intervention
- "Needs assessment"
- "Organizational effectiveness"
- "Program evaluation"