Announcement re: Federal Govt Data
U.S. government sites are modifying some data, and some datasets may not be accessible on the site. Look for a notice like this on visible web pages.
To search for websites/datasets that appear to be inaccessible, check the resources on the individual tabs.
Finding Government Information during the 2025 Administration Transition: https://libguides.umn.edu/
From KFF: A Look at Federal Health Data Taken Offline: https://www.kff.org/policy-watch/a-look-at-federal-health-data-taken-offline/
To search across sites, from Boston University: https://www.FindLostData.org
The Data Rescue Project's Data Rescue Tracker: https://www.datarescueproject.org/data-rescue-tracker/
Internet Archive: https://web.archive.org/ Search by URL, if you have it, or by dataset or organization name, then click on the most recent date on the calendar of results. Data is from the end of administration project that they produce every 4 years (in this case, 28 Jan 2025).
Policy Map: https://www.policymap.com/blog/purged-federal-agency-data-available Including data from CDC PLACES (Population Level Analysis and Community Estimates), the Social Vulnerability Index (SVI), the Climate & Economic Justice Screening Tool (CEJST), & others.
ICPSR: is saving CDC data https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/web/pages/ICPSR/index.html
Preserving Public U.S. Federal Data: https://lil.law.harvard.edu/blog/2025/01/30/preserving-public-u-s-federal-data/ (data not currently available until spring)
General Population Resources
-
data.census.govThe official portal for U.S. Census data. Find vital statistics (births, deaths), & so much more.
-
DataFinderSearch for data by indicators & location & easily create custom reports. From the Population Reference Bureau.
-
HealthData.gov - datasetsProvides access to data supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, as well as state partners.
-
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPU-MS)See User's Guide in left side bar for detailed 'how-to-use' information.
-
International Database (US Census)Provides access to accurate demographic measures for populations around the world. Includes a comprehensive set of indicators, as produced by the U.S. Census Bureau since the 1960s.
-
MEASURE DHS (Demographic & Health Surveys)Supports many data collection initiatives related to health and population trends in developing countries. Funded by USAID.
-
Minority Data Resource CenterProvides data resources and analytic tools for use in analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. It also assists in tracking changes in outcomes and status of minority populations.
-
National Survey of Family Growth (CDC)Information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health.
-
Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic TrendsDatasets are currently available dating back to 2005.
-
Population Reference BureauAn extensive source of data surrounding population & health, both domestic & international.
-
Quick Health Data OnlineFrom the Office on Women's Health (formerly known as the National Women's Health Indicators Database). Provides state and county level data available by gender, race, & ethnicity in 11 categories.
-
UN Demographic YearbookStatistics on population size & composition, births, deaths, marriage & divorce; special topics include economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity & language, among others.
Social Determinants of Health
-
Covid Health Equity DataCatalogs current health equity-related data on the COVID Data Tracker that align with populations and place-based focus groups identified in the CDC COVID-19 Response Health Equity Strategy, including racial and ethnic minority populations, people living in rural or frontier areas, people experiencing homelessness, essential and frontline workers, people with disabilities, people with substance use disorders, people who are justice-involved (incarcerated persons), non-U.S.-born persons.
-
Siren Evidence LibraryResearch articles, issue briefs, reports, & commentaries that either focus on or are relevant to evaluating health care-based interventions that address patients’ social & economic needs. From the U of California, SF.
-
Social Determinants of Health Database (AHRQ)SDOH-focused data, curated from existing Federal datasets & other publicly available data sources. Variables in the files correspond to five key SDOH domains & can be linked to other data by county & zip code.
-
Social Vulnerablity Index (CDC/ATDSR)Uses 15 U.S. census variables to help local officials identify communities that may need support before, during, or after disasters.
-
Other Data Sources with Social Determinants of Health Measures (CDC)Includes information and links to additional datasets with SDOH measures available at the county, place, census tract, and/or ZCTA-levels.