Skip to Main Content
University of Michigan
Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan Library
Search this Guide
Resources on finding and utilizing health statistics.
Pharmacy, Pricing, & Workforce
Specific Health Indicators
Injury, Crime & Violence
Statistics by Location - General
Specific Locations - Global
Specific Location - National
Specific Locations - State
Specific Location - Local
Quick access to data from the National Center for Health Statistics.
Chronic Disease GIS Exchange (CDC)
Provides a forum for sharing specific examples, ideas and techniques for using GIS to document geographic disparities in health indicators.
Chronic Disease Indicators (CDC)
Provides access to a cross-cutting set of 97 indicators and relevant data and allows for comparison at the state, county, and U.S. Census region level.
Chronic Disease Prevention (CDC)
Provides information on the CDC's surveillance and tracking activities in the effort to measure and reduce the prevalence of chronic disease.
Chronic Diseases (WHO)
Global Health Observatory (GHO) data from the World Health Organization. Search under
Asthma - FastStats (CDC)
Asthma Data, Statistics, & Surveillance (CDC)
Includes data from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) surveys, the Vital Statistics System, & the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS).
The Global Asthma Report - Maps, Data, Resources
Cancer - Chronic Disease Prevention & Health Promotion (CDC)
Cancer - FastStats (CDC)
Cancer Atlas (NCI)
Cancer Data & Statistics (CDC)
Includes rates by state, demographic group, & race/ethnicity.
Cancer Fact Sheets (MDCH)
From the Michigan Department of Community Health.
Cancer Incidence Statistics (NCI)
From the National Cancer Institute.
Cancer Statistics (NIH)
Cancer Today - IARC
Data visualization tools that present current national estimates of cancer incidence, mortality, & prevalence.
Cancer Trends Progress Report (NCI)
Childhood Cancer Data (CDC)
Global Cancer Observatory (IARC)
Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS): Cancer (NCI)
Nationally representative data about the American public's use of cancer-related information.
Interactive Cancer Atlas (InCA) (CDC)
U.S. cancer statistics in an interactive format.
National Program of Cancer Registries (CDC)
SEER National Cancer Institute: Cancer Statistics
Sources of Cancer Data
From the Michigan Cancer Consortium.
State Cancer Profiles (NCI)
Interactive maps of cancer statistics
US Cancer Statistics (CDC Wonder)
Provides information by incidence & mortality, 1999-2012.
Heart & Stroke Statistics (American Heart Association)
Heart Disease - FastStats (CDC)
Heart Disease Facts & Statistics (CDC)
Incidence & Prevalence Chart Book, 2006 (NHLBI)
Largely unpublished estimates of incidence & prevalence from 6 studies sponsored by the National Heart, Lung, & Blood Institute.
Interactive Atlas of Heart Disease & Stroke (CDC)
Morbidity & Mortality Chart Book, 2012 (NHLBI)
Social Determinants of Health Maps (CDC)
Use with heart disease & stroke statistics.
Chronic Kidney Disease
Kidney Disease - FastStats (CDC)
Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) Surveillance Project
From the CDC.
U.S. Renal Data System
From the National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases (NIDDK).
Diabetes - FastStats (CDC)
Diabetes Atlas (International Diabetes Federation)
Interactive atlas that includes statistics on disease & health expenditures. Compare countries, regions.
Diabetes Data & Trends (CDC)
Diabetes - Facts (WHO)
Diabetes Statistics (American Diabetes Association)
National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse - Statistics
Includes a variety of reports, including by race/ethnicity.
Depression - FastStats (CDC)
Mental Health - FastStats (CDC)
Mental Health - Statistics on Hospital Stays (HCUPnet)
Mental Health Atlas (WHO)
Contains information on health policies, plans, financing, care delivery, human resources, medicines, & information systems around the world.
Mental Health Data & Statistics (CDC)
Mental Health (WHO)
National Comorbidity Survey (NCS)
National Institute of Mental Health - Statistics
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services - Data
Includes National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) public-use data for download, online analysis & Quick Tables.
Other Chronic Diseases
Arthritis - FastStats (CDC)
Arthritis Data & Statistics (CDC)
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) - FastStats
COPD Data & Statistics (CDC)