Skip to Main Content

Children's Literature

Resources intended to assist researchers, School of Education and School of Information students by providing U-M Library children's lit resources in one place. It also includes other external helpful resources.

Sample Subject Headings to Use When Searching Library Catalog Search

Children's stories                                                                           United States

Young adult fiction                                                                          Collection development

Children's literature                                                                        Juvenile Fiction

History and criticsm                                                                        Newbery medal

Books and reading                                                                         Caldecott medal

Young adult literature                                                                      Folklore

Study and teaching (Secondary)                                                   Fairy tales

Book clubs (Discussion groups)                                                   Illustrators

Young adults' libraries                                                                    Children's poetry

Activity programs 

 

Searching the Catalog for Children's Literature

The most effective way to find children's books from the Children's Literature Collection is to use the Advanced Search in the Catalog.  Once you have navigated to the Catalog and chosen to use the Advanced Search, use the following steps to find children's books.

  1. Type in your search terms in the search boxes.
  2. Choose Hatcher as the Location for your search.
  3. Choose Children's Literature Collection as the Collection for your search.

You must follow the steps in this order for the correct options to appear in the Location and Collection boxes.  This image may help you with your search as well.

Finding Children's eBooks in the Library

The University of Michigan Library subscribes to an ebook collection titled Proquest Ebook Central.  Included in this collection are several children's ebooks.  From the Browse Subjects page, select Juvenile Literature to browse through the children's books in this collection.

Be advised that the content of this collection changes rapidly and without notice.  Visit the Help menus within the Ebook Central interface for information about using the interface.