Interracial Resources

In order to find articles on topics related to mixed race people and issues, the following social science databases can be used. They are not the only databases that contain articles about mixed race topics, however, they will give you a good start on your research. For each database below, you will find a sample search, along with subject terms that are unique to that database.

Ethnic Newswatch
A full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages.

Subject Headings (use this language to search this database):

• Interracial Relationships
• Multiracial People

Sample search (copy and paste into the database's search engine): abstract("interracial relationships" OR "multiracial people" OR biracial OR "mixed race" OR mixed-race)

Alt-Press Watch
Covers newspapers, journals and magazines of alternative and independent press.

Subject headings:

• Multiracial People
• Multiculturalism & Pluralism
• Interracial Relationships

Sample search (copy and paste into the database's search engine): abstract("interracial relationships" OR "multiracial people" OR biracial OR "mixed race" OR mixed-race)

ERIC
Contains articles on education and the social sciences.

Subject headings:

• Multiracial Persons
• Racial Identification
• Biculturalism
• Cultural Pluralism

Sample search (copy and paste into the database's search engine): abstract("interracial relationships" OR "multiracial persons" OR biracial OR "mixed race" OR mixed-race)

PsycInfo
Contains citations and articles in psychology and the social sciences.

Subject headings:

• Ethnic Identity
• Interracial Marriage
• Interracial Adoption
• Interracial Offspring
• Multiculturaliam

Sample search (copy and paste into the database's search engine): AB("interracial relationships" OR "multiracial persons" OR biracial OR "mixed race" OR mixed-race OR "interracial offspring")

JSTOR
Contains core journals from the humanities and social science.

Searches the full text of articles; no subject headings.

Sample search (copy and paste into the database's search engine): (ab:""interracial relationships" OR "multiracial persons" OR biracial OR "mixed race" OR mixed-race OR "interracial offspring"")

Black Historical Newspapers

Custom ProQuest cross-search of 6 major African American community newspapers published 1893-2005. 

Sample search (copy and paste into the database's search engine): summary("interracial relationships" OR "multiracial persons" OR biracial OR "mixed race" OR mixed-race OR "interracial offspring")

American Indian History Online

This databases provides access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. 320+ Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, maps and charts, and photographs. 

Sample search (copy and paste into the database's search engine): mixed-blood OR "mixed blood" OR biracial OR mixed-race OR "mixed race" OR multiracial OR "mixed descent" OR "half blood" OR "mixed lineage"

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

Provides citations drawn from more than 400 journals, primarily in Spanish or English, which cover Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States.

Sample search [NOTE: you can only use one term per search box, but you can add as many search boxes as you need]: Search box 1: Mestizaje   Search box 2: mestizo   Search box 3: biracial  Search box 4: "racially mixed"