Chemistry Librarian
Mathematics Reference
- MathWorldComprehensive searchable reference resource covering a wide range of mathematical knowledge.
- Online Encyclopedia of Integer SequencesCollections of known integer sequences with references to their occurrences in mathematical literature.
- Number GossipWebsite featuring information on interesting properties of integers.
- MacTutor History of MathematicsArchive of biographies of mathematicians from the University of St. Andrews.
- Mathematics Genealogy ProjectDatabase of the academic genealogy of mathematicians throughout history.
- NIST Library of Mathematical FunctionsDigital collections of types of functions with formulas, graphs, and tables.
Top Mathematical resources
- MathSciNetA searchable database providing an index of abstracts from more than 3100 mathematical journals and many thousands of books, conference proceedings, theses, and technical reports indexes, many of which have been reviewed by subject experts. Information on how to use this resource is available in the MathSciNet section of this guide.
- The arXivOpen access database of e-prints in physics, mathematics, statistics, computer science and quantitative biology. Information on how to use this resource is available in the arXiv section of this guide.
- UM Mathematics CollectionThe University of Michigan has one of the most comprehensive collections of mathematics books and journals in the country. You can find the physical collection housed in Shapiro Library on the 3rd (Journals) and 4th (Monographs) floors and us the U-M Library search for items held at other locations or available digitally.
- zbMathEuropean counterpart of MathSciNet with very similar coverage. zbMath's coverage of current mathematics is a bit slower than MathSciNet, but their historical coverage is significantly larger due to their integration the Jahrbuch database and zbMath also offers the ability to search via formula which MathSciNet does not offer. zbMath became Open Access starting in January 2021 and is fully available to all.
- Project EuclidA collection of open-access mathematics monographs and journals, as well as some subscription journals (We do not have access through Project Euclid to all journals, please use library search if you are unable to access a specific article).
Digital Mathematics & Statistics Journals and Books
- Mathematics Journal ListList of journals available electronically through the University of Michigan library.
- Springer MathematicsProvides online full-text access to many of the Springer Mathematics journals, e-books, and monograph series.
- American Mathematical Society E-BooksElectronic collection of monographs, proceedings, and memoirs from the AMS.
- SIAM Journals OnlineProvides full-text access to recent volumes of scholarly journals in mathematics and computer science published by SIAM.
- SIAM Ebook CollectionThe SIAM e-books collection includes monographs from a wide spectrum of applied mathematics areas.
- Wiley MathematicsAccess to many journal and book titles on mathematics from Wiley-Blackwell.
- European Mathematical Society E-BooksElectronic collection of monographs, textbooks, lectore notes, and reports from the EMS.
- Taylor & Francis MathematicsOnline access to Mathematics journals and books from Taylor & Francis and CRC Press.
- ScienceDirect MathematicsContains access to over 1,000 mathematics journals and e-books from Elsevier and its subsidiaries.
- Cambridge University Press MathematicsOnline access to Mathematics journals and books from Cambridge University Press
- Oxford University Press MathematicsOnline access to Mathematics books from Oxford University Press
Interdisciplinary Databases and Collections
- Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new windowSearch engine that searches for scholarly documents, with the added feature of MGet It links.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowDatabase indexing journals and selected books and proceedings in all academic disciplines.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
About the U-M Mathematics Collection
The University of Michigan Science Library has one of the largest and most comprehensive mathematics collections in the country. We strive to collect all significant mathematical works in a comprehensive manner in the following areas of mathematics: mathematical analysis, number theory, mathematical statistics and probability, advanced algebra including group theory, modern geometry, algebraic geometry and topology, and the history of mathematics. We maintain a collection in applied mathematics, actuarial mathematics, recreational mathematics and works on mathematics education to support the research and teaching programs of the Mathematics and Statistics departments.
Last Updated: Sep 17, 2024 12:20 PM
Subjects: Science