Research Guides: Environmental Health Sciences: Subject-Specific Resources

Environment

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on agriculture, soil sciences, forestry, & more. From the National Agriculture Library. Also included in the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Health & Safety Science Abstracts content only.
Aqualine This link opens in a new window
Covers trade, technical, & scientific literature in water resources, supplies, quality, & treatment. Included in the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts - Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality (ASFA 3) This link opens in a new window
Devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries.
Bacteriology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers bacteriology, from cell structure & function, identification, antibacterial agents, & immunology to taxonomy. Included in the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database.

Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal (NIEHS)
An integrated, curated bibliographic database of global peer-reviewed research & gray literature on the science of climate impacts on human health.

Biological and Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes scientific journals, from popular to professional, that pertain to biology, agriculture, forestry, & ecology. From EBSCOhost.
Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers evolutionary biology, economics, & systems analysis. Now part of Environmental Science Index database.

Environmental Science Index
Indexes literature on technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production. Now part of Environmental Science Index database.
EPA Databases
Use the Databases tab for access to EPA resources such as Air Quality & the Consolidated Human Activity databases.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 384,000 articles, books and government documents on global warming, environmental protection and renewable energy.

Green Book (Nonattainment Areas for Criteria Pollutants )
Provides detailed information about area National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) designations, classifications & nonattainment status. From the EPA.
Heat Health Index
Shows the rate of emergency department (ED) visits associated with heat-related illness (HRI) per 100,000 ED visits by region (as defined by the U.S. DHHS) for the selected day using data from the National Syndromic Surveillance Program. Colors on the map show the average maximum temperature by county for the same day and year, using data from the National Center for Environmental Information.

Industrial & Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) This link opens in a new window
Covers significant findings & practical applications in the agricultural, food & beverage, chemical, & pharmaceutical industries. Now part of Environmental Science Index database.

National Environmental Public Health Tracking
The Environmental Public Health Tracking Program collects, integrates, & analyzes non-infectious disease & environmental data. Includes state & local data also.

Pollution Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers scientific research & government policies on atmosphere, emissions, & environmental action. Now part of Environmental Science Index database.

The Public Finance for Energy Database
The only resource tracking flows of money for clean energy and fossil fuels across more than one institution.
What Air Are You Breathing?
Explore data from 3000 cities across the world to see how the air you breathe is impacting your health.

Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Covers zoological & animal science literature, from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. From Web of Science.

Toxicology

Lead - Data, Research, Law and Policy
From the National Library of Medicine.
LiverTox
Provides information on the diagnosis, cause, management, etc. of liver injury due to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.
Mercury - Law, Regulations, Policy
From the National Library of Medicine.
Patty's Industrial Hygiene & Toxicology
Up-to-date information on chemical agents, physical agents, biohazards, engineering control, and personal protection.
Toxicology Abstracts
Part of Environmental Science Index database.

ToxLine This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, and other literature in all areas of toxicology.

Diseases

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ASTDR)
From the CDC. Includes new exposure assessments that CDC/ATDSR are conducting & PFAS health effects: Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances (PFAS) and Your Health
National Center for Environmental Health (CDC)
Note especially Data Resources & Public Health Tracking.
Foodborne, Waterborne, and Environmental Diseases (CDC) Data
Includes Foodborne Disease Active Surveillance Network (FoodNet), Foodborne Disease Outbreak Surveillance System (FDOSS), National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System for Enteric Bacteria (NARMS), National Electronic Norovirus Outbreak Network (CaliciNet), & more.
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
Information on a variety of health topics, environmental issues, & public health impacts of environmental exposures. View Environmental Health Topics in the upper left.
Public Finance for Energy Database
The Public Finance for Energy Database tracks flows of money for clean energy & fossil fuels across more than 1 institution.

Injury Prevention & Occupational Health

American Trauma Society
CDC - Injury and Violence Prevention and Control
Child Injury Prevention Alliance
Dept. of Transportation Statistics
Includes some reports with statistics on transportation-related injuries.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Laboratory Safety
From the National Library of Medicine.
National Institute for Occupational Safety & Health
Workplace Safety & Health Topics on the homepage may be particularly helpful.
PubChem
Find the most relevant chemical safety information including flammability, toxicity, exposure limits & symptoms, first aid, handling, & clean up.

Reports, Clinical Trials, & Other Grey Literature

It can be hard to find reports, conference proceedings, clinical trials, & other resources that are usually not available in databases, but these resources can be an important part of your research, especially to protect against reporting bias in the published literature. The Grey Literature research guide provides links to these sources & tips on how to search them. Resources that you'll find include ASPR TRACIE Technical Resources (DHHS) for disaster preparedness info; Climate Change & Human Health; Homeland Security Digital Library (DHS); & Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO; EPA).

Grey Literature

Last Updated: Dec 3, 2024 11:06 AM

Subjects: Health Sciences

Tags: occupational health, toxicology

Environmental Health Sciences

Environmental Justice

Topics on this Page

Research Guides & Other Tools

Environment

Toxicology

Diseases

Injury Prevention & Occupational Health

Reports, Clinical Trials, & Other Grey Literature