Research Guides: Epidemiology: Statistical Sources

General Statistical Sources

For an extensive set of health statistics resources, including disease-specific, populations, & incidence & prevalence, use the Health Statistics research guide.

data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Population, housing, & economic census data from ongoing surveys including the American Community Survey, from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Current Index to Statistics
A bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. Covers all articles from 106 "core journals," selected articles from about 900 additional journals, and about 8000 books in statistics published since 1974.
General Guide to Health Statistics
From the University of Chicago.
FastStats A-Z
Provides quick access to statistics on public health topics, organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

Global Data

Childinfo (UNICEF)
Statistics on women & children from the UN's Children's Fund, including data used in UNICEF’s "The State of the World’s Children" & "Progress for Children" & technical resources for conducting UNICEF-supported Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS), a major source of global development data.
Global Alert and Response--Databases and Information Systems (WHO)
Information on disease outbreaks, including DengueNet and FluNet, and Global Atlas of Infectious Diseases.
Global Health (research guide)
Global Health Observatory (including WHOSIS)
Provides access to data and analyses for monitoring global health, including critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.
Global Influenza Virological Surveillance (WHO)
Influenza data from the World Health Organization.
Health Map
Provides real-time disease outbreak information, based on outbreak data of varying reliability (from news sources to curated personal accounts, to validated official alerts).
Kaiser Global Health
Data and information on the U.S. role in global health policy.
Malaria Atlas Project
MEASURE Demographic & Health Surveys (DHS)
Provides data & analysis on the population, health, & nutrition of women & children in developing countries. From USAID.
Resistance Map
A web-based collection of tools that allow interactive exploration of more than 50 antimicrobial surveillance indicators from North America & Europe. From the Center for Disease Dynamics, Economics & Policy.

State-level Data

Behavioral Risk Factors Surveillance System
Healthy Michigan 2010
Michigan Department of Community Health
Quick Data Online
From the Office of Women's Health, US Department of Health and Human Services.

National Data

Behavioral Risk Factors Surveillance System
A state-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, & health care access, primarily related to chronic disease & injury.
CDC Wonder (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research)
Easy-to-use, menu-driven system for the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CDER)
Database of health studies of Dept. of Energy contract workers & environmental studies of areas surrounding DOE facilities, de-identified & going back to the Department's early production years.
DHHS Data Council Guides to HHS Surveys and Data Resources
A web-based tool, designed to complement other government resources, such as FirstGov and FedStats, that brings together key health and human services data and statistics.
FedStats
Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic
Healthdata.gov
Covers many agencies within the Dept. of Health & Human Services.
more...less...
1) Provides a single, user-friendly, source for national, state, and community health indicators, facilitate harmonization of indicators across initiatives, & serve as the data hub for the HHS Community Health Data Initiative, a flagship HHS open government initiative to release data; encourage innovative application development; and catalyze change to improve community health.
Health, United States
Annual reports on US health statistics.
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report
Weekly report with data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports.
National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases (CDC)
Information from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
National Center for Health Statistics
From the principal health statistics agency of US government.
Sage Stats
Data on U.S. states, counties, cities, & metropolitan areas, in a variety of areas, including crime, health, religion & social welfare.

General Statistical Sources

Global Data

State-level Data

Table of Contents

National Data