Research Guides: Genealogy Research: Related Collections

Library of Michigan Family History Resources

The Library of Michigan offers a wide range of digital resources for family history researchers that can be accessed online using a Library of Michigan card (available at no cost to all Michigan residents, including out-of-state students enrolled in a Michigan college or university). To register online for a Library of Michigan card, visit www.michigan.gov/librarycard

Library of Michigan Family History Databases
Provides access to Black Life in America; Fold3 by Ancestry (military records); Heritage Hub (obituaries & death notices); Indian Claims Insight; NewspaperArchive; Newspapers.com; the complete backfiles of the Bay City Times, Grand Rapids Press, Kalamazoo Gazette, Saginaw News, and Sault News; and more. (Available to users with internet access and a Library of Michigan card barcode number.)

Related Collections

This is a selective list of other institutions within the State of Michigan with substantial genealogical collections that may be of interest to researchers. Links are provided to local repositories as well as to a couple of other popular facilities within the state.

Bentley Historical Society
The Bentley Historical Library on the north campus of the University of Michigan is both the archives for the university and houses a collection of historical materials pertaining to the State of Michigan.
Washtenaw County Historical Society
The society holds regular meetings, has a collection of items of local interest, and maintains the Museum on Main Street (at the corner of Beakes and E. Kingsley Streets) in Ann Arbor.
Genealogical Society of Washtenaw County/LDS Family History Center
These institutions are housed together in Saline, Michigan. Browsable lists of their holdings are available through the website.
more...less...
These institutions are housed together in Saline, Michigan. Browsable lists of their holdings are available through the website. In addition, microform materials from the vast holdings of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints can be rented and viewed at the Family History Center. For more information, go to http://www.familysearch.org. The Genealogical Society of Washtenaw County holds monthly meetings and visitors are welcome.
Ypsilanti Historical Society
This society maintains both a museum and an archives with extensive materials on the history of Ypsilanti. Meetings and events are held throughout the year.
Detroit Public Library: Burton Historical Collection
Originally the private collection of Clarence Monroe Burton, a Detroit attorney, these materials focus on the history of Detroit and Michigan, although items pertaining to other states and countries are also present.
more...less...
Originally the private collection of Clarence Monroe Burton, a Detroit attorney, these materials focus on the history of Detroit and Michigan, although items pertaining to other states and countries are also present. The collection includes manuscripts, photographs, maps, and an extensive array of other genealogical materials. Non-residents of Detroit are required to purchase a pass or library card to search the collection.
Library of Michigan and State Archives of Michigan
These institutions, located within the same complex in Lansing, provide a variety of resources for the pursuit of genealogical research.
more...less...
These institutions, located within the same complex in Lansing, provide a variety of resources for the pursuit of genealogical research. Electronic databases include the 1870 federal census index of Michigan, locations of cemeteries within the state, indexes to naturalization records, a listing of State Population Censuses, and a death index. The Library of Michigan features the Abrams Collection of genealogical resources and provides seminars on topics relating to genealogy.

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2024 12:27 PM

Subjects: General Information Sources