Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Architecture

Provides access to resources related to the study of architecture, construction, and building systems.

Finding Archives

Archives hold collections of personal and institutional papers. Descriptions of the collections are often available online in documents called Finding Aids. These outline the contents of the collection, but don't necessarily include digital versions of the contents. These databases will help you find if and where personal and institutional papers are held.  

Many archives include entries for their Finding Aids in Worldcat (limit your search to Archival Materials).  The University Library subscribes to many databases described as archives, which will put you in touch with primary sources. These resources generally include a single publication (e.g., Vogue Magazine) or have a particular subject focus (e.g., Archive of Americana). The following list is just a sampling. To find more go to Library Search and enter Archive as your search.  

Archive of Americana

Google News Archive

New York Times (1851-2014)

ProQuest History Vault

Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive

Times (London) Digital Archive

Vogue Archive

Archives for HA 215 Project (organized by City)

Listed here are specialized libraries, architectural collections, and online resources related to your projects.

Chicago

Chicago History Museum

Encyclopedia of Chicago

Art Institute of Chicago Archival Collections

Detroit

Bentley Historical Library (University of Michigan)

Detroit Historical Society (see also the Historical Society's, Encyclopedia of Detroit)

Detroit Public Library Burton Historical Collection

Walter P. Reuther Library of Labor and Urban Affairs, Wayne State Univ.

Hong Kong

Hong Kong Heritage Project

Foreign Architect Hong Kong Contemporary Architecture Guide (travel focus, but puts one in touch with sources)

London

RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) Library & Collections

National Archives - Finding Architectural Records

Los Angeles

Online Archive of California (includes university and museum archives)

Getty Center. Architecture and Design Collections

New York City

Museum of the City of New York

Skyscraper Museum

World Trade Center (historic buildings in Lower Manhattan)

New York Public Library Archives & Manuscripts

New York Public Library Digital Collections

Sydney

New South Wales State Archives & Records

New South Wales Archives: Colonial (Government) Architect Guide

Sydney City Archives

National Archives of Australia

Directories & Guides

e-architect postings about world buildings, organized by city (online resource for contemporary architecture)

e-architect postings about world buildings, organized by country

ArchDaily Contemporary Architecture City Guides

Emporis Building Directory

Archives Hub, a directory of over 300 archives in the U.K.