Quick Links
-
Material OrderShared source for design material collections.
-
Material ConneXion DatabaseA searchable/browseable database of innovative and new materials.
-
MatWeb This link opens in a new windowA searchable database of material properties, including over 95,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites.
-
Library CatalogCatalog for materials owned by the University of Michigan Library
Books on Materials
The reference collection on the second floor of the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library contains a wealth of resources related to building and construction materials, including handbooks, cost data, and product information.
Here is a sampling of what is available. Please feel free to browse the reference collection for more information.
-
Building Design and Construction Handbook
Call Number: TH 151 .B8251 1994This fifth edition offers engineers, architects, contractors and other building professionals a concise, authoritative guide to modern building design and construction. It presents step-by-step descriptions of building design and construction techniques, offers good-practice suggestions and proposes many ideas for saving time and money in design and construction tasks. -
Building Estimator's Reference Book
Call Number: TH 435 .F83 2008 -
Green Building Products: The GreenSpec Guide to Residential Building Materials
Call Number: TH 455 .G74 2006 -
Means Square Foot Costs: Residential, Commercial, Industrial, Institutional
Call Number: TH 435 .M52 -
Olin’s Construction: Principles, Materials, and Methods
Call Number: TH 145 .S513 2007 -
Sweets Repair & Remodel Cost Guide
Call Number: TH 437 .D641
AAEL Joins Material Order
The University of Michigan Library is a member of the Material Order consortium. Co-founded by Harvard Graduate School of Design and Rhode Island School of Design, the consortium brings together material collections to partner in the creation of a shared resource for materials description and access. Material Order, powered by CollectionSpace (Lyrasis), utilizes and develops standards and best practices to provide a community-based approach to the management of design material collections.
Material ConneXion Materials in the Library
The library provides onsite access to over 1100 innovative and cool materials from Material ConneXion. You'll find the materials on the 2nd floor of the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library. The Materials Collection space is open whenever the Reserve Desk is open. Contact Rebecca at rpw@umich.edu with any questions you have about the collection.
Stop by to see and touch the materials!
Product Information on the Web for Building and Designing
-
ARCAT - Building MaterialsBuilding product information for the architectural and spec writing communities.
-
Architonic: the independent resource for architecture and designClick on the Materials link for a sampling and access to new materials.
-
The A to Z of MaterialsMaterials information source for the engineering and design community.
-
Building Materials (by McGraw-Hill Sweets)The Sweets directory of building product information can be searched by manufacturer, product, or product type.
-
CLT Cross Laminated Timber Handbook2013 handbook on CLT co-published by the USDA and the Binational Softwood Lumber Council.
-
CMD (formerly Reed Construction Data)CMD provides commercial construction information. Browse product information and search construction data, news, and building codes. Some parts of the site require free registration.
-
International Molybdenum Association: Architectural Design Resources for Stainless SteelCase studies in stainless steel uses in architecture published by the Int'l Molybdenum Association.
-
IQS (Industrial Quick Search) DirectoryThe IQS Directory is a comprehensive listing of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States and Canada.
-
Material DistrictMaterial District (formerly Materia), based in the Netherlands, is a global network of innovative materials.
-
Materials Lab, UT AustinThis is a web directory of materials and building products websites created by a student at UT-Austin School of Architecture.
-
Materials Library at Institute of MakingDescriptions and images of materials curated by the Institute of Making in London.
-
Sustainable Sources - Green Building MaterialsListing of typical building materials with discussion about aspects of sustainability.
-
Thomas Register of American ManufacturersA searchable catalog of industrial products and services.
More Info on Materials
See our Materials Collection Research Guide for more information about materials here in the Library.