Citation Tips
The library can help you with different tools for managing your references and creating Works Cited pages. These tools include Zotero and Mendeley. Expert help is available from Scholarspace.
- MendeleyCitation management tool often used by engineers, free version syncs desktop and browser article libraries.
- ZoteroFree online citation manager and citing tool. Visit the Zotero guide for more information.
- ZoteroBibAutomatic tool that allows you to plug in a DOI or url for an article or book and get a citation in any style you want.
Databases
Search for journal articles, conference papers, and research reports in these databases. For a complete list of databases for NERS, please see our Database List.
- Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new windowEngineering Index (Compendex & INSPEC) provides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in over 5000 journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
- INIS Database This link opens in a new window[International Nuclear Information System]
INIS provides a comprehensive information reference service for literature on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. - NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new windowServes as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowCombined access to Chemical Abstracts CAPlus, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT databases and Medline. Search by chemical structure or substructure, reaction, name, formula, etc., or by natural language query.
- OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new windowSciTech Connect is a portal for Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the OSTI Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. SciTech Connect incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface. SciTech Connect was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies.
- US Nuclear Regulatory Commission [NUREG]Reports or brochures on regulatory decisions, results of research, results of incident investigations, and other technical and administrative information.
Science, technology & engineering research information funded by DOE
www.osti.gov/search
Separate Code explorer www.osti.gov/doecode
Separate Data explorer www.osti.gov/dataexplorer
- logging in allows saved searches & alerts for new research
- OSTI allows researchers to connect their ORCID ID
- allows some normal database syntax like quotations: “nuclear reactor”
- but uses something called “semantic search” meaning searching for
wind energywill also search forwind turbinesandgeothermal energy - boolean operators (AND OR NOT) are IGNORED, unless you use the Advanced Search, which does not have a dedicated page
- open Advanced Search using the green arrow icon in the search bar
