Skip to Main Content
Library Research Guides

English 313: Topics in Literary Studies/Makman

Provides resources for Lisa Makman's English 313 courses which are taught every Fall (Fantasies of Childhood) and Winter (Children's Literature and the Invention of Modern Childhood) semester.

About Your Special Collections User Account

You must be a registered user to request and use material held by the Special Collections Research Center. This one-time registration process includes the creation of a Special Collections Request Account.

With online access to that account, you can:

  • schedule appointments in the reading room, with one week advance notice.

  • submit requests for collection material online at your own convenience

  • track the status of submitted requests

  • access detailed information about past requests

​Registration means that you acknowledge and agree to the Terms and Conditions governing access to and use of Special Collections Library material. Following these rules helps to preserve collections for the use of future students and scholars.

 

ENG 313 Books on Hold in the Special Collections Research Center

One of the books used for your transmission essay should be from the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) 

Several editions of each of the stories for this assignment are on hold in the SCRC Reading Room on the 6th floor of the Hatcher Graduate Library South. See this spreadsheet for a complete list of books on hold (link to be added soon). 

SCRC is open Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday from 10:00AM - Noon and 1:00PM - 5:00 PM.

You do not need an appointment to see the books on hold for this class. Simply let the reading room staff know that you are here to see books on hold for Dr. Lisa Makman's ENG 313 class and tell them which book you wish to see. There will also be a physical copy of the spreadsheet available in the reading room for reference. 

Activate Your Special Collections User Account

  1. Navigate to the Special Collections Request Account main menu page.
  2. Log in with your uniqname and password.
  3. Respond to prompt to accept terms and conditions governing access to and use of Special Collections Research Center materials.
  4. Complete or confirm details of the user information page and submit.
  5. After submitting user information, your account will be created and you will be registered as a user of the Special Collections Research Center.  You will be directed to your account’s main menu, which lists your outstanding requests and displays the option “Logoff [your username]” (see image below). Note: To see materials on hold for your class, you will need to click on "Activities" in the left sidebar. 

Screen image of example SCRC web account "Outstanding Requests" page / home page.

Accessing Materials in the Special Collections Research Center Reading Room

To see books on hold for ENG 313 outside of class time, you can come to the reading room during open hours (Wednesday, Thursday, Friday10am-noon and 1-5pm), in Hatcher South on floor 6. See this page for tips on navigating Hatcher Library, physical accessibility information, and more.

What happens in the Reading Room? 

  • Be prepared to give desk staff the course number/title and instructor name, so that staff can determine which collection materials are on hold for your class. 
  • Refer to the class spreadsheet to find the book title(s) and number(s) that you wish to see, and let staff know what those are. 
  • Only certain personal items may be brought into the reading room: laptops, phones, other electronics, note paper, pencils, and limited study materials (subject to approval). Other belongings should be placed in a locker outside the reading room, including bags, laptop sleeves, coats, ink pens, etc.
  • Staff will bring materials to the table where you are sitting. When you are finished, or need a different book, alert the desk staff. They will pick up unneeded items, and bring new ones, as needed. Please do not carry materials across the room yourself.