Skip to Main Content

English 313: Topics in Literary Studies/Makman

Provides resources for Lisa Makman's English 313 courses which are taught every Fall (Fantasies of Childhood) and Winter (Children's Literature and the Invention of Modern Childhood) semester.

Special Collections Materials and COVID 19

Due to the public measures needed during the COVID shutdown, physical Special Collections materials are unavailable for your project at this time (8/31/2020-present). See the Special Collections Research Center website for general information about its usual collections and services. 

Contactless Pickup

Some books may only be available to you in physical form from the Children's Literature Collection in Hatcher Graduate Library.  The library has arranged for Contactless Pickup for materials that can be checked out and are not available digitally.  See the Contactless Pickup page on the library's website for more information about how to use this service.

Searching the Catalog for Children's Literature

The most effective way to find children's books from the Children's Literature Collection is to use the Advanced Search in the Catalog.  Once you have navigated to the Catalog and chosen to use the Advanced Search, use the following steps to find children's books.

  1. Type in your search terms in the search boxes.
  2. Choose Hatcher as the Location for your search.
  3. Choose Children's Literature Collection as the Collection for your search.

You must follow the steps in this order for the correct options to appear in the Location and Collection boxes.  This image may help you with your search as well.

Advanced Search image describing how to search UM Library Catalog to retrieve only children's books

HathiTrust English 313 Collections

Juli McLoone has created several digital collections of some of the titles available to you for your assignment.  See the links below for links to digital versions of those titles.  For more information about how to use HathiTrust see the HathiTrust Digital Library Research Guide.

Public Library Access

You may want to consider using materials from your local public libraries for your assignment.  Information about how to receive a public library card for the Ann Arbor District Library can be found on their website.