Find resources related to mass media and communication, including health communication, political communication, gender and race, global and new media, media policy, social media, and print and broadcast history, among other topics.
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2012
Check out these databases for articles both scholarly and popular. Need help deciding what's scholarly and what's not? Get help here.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
Provides coverage of more than 500 journals in the communication and mass media fields, including full-text for more than 230 journals. Coverage for significant titles in the field goes back to their very first issue (as far back as 1915).
- Communication Abstracts
Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. *NEW* Now searchable together with CMMC, above.
- ProQuest Research Library
Indexes over 2,300 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.
Contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 titles. 1887-
- Google Scholar
Google search for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of MGet IT links from UM-Ann Arbor that connect you to the online and print versions held by the UM Library. Especially useful for interdisciplinary subject areas.
- MLA International Bibliography
Subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
- FIAF Film Archive Database
Access to International Index to Film Periodicals, International Index to Television Periodicals, International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections, and Treasures from the Film Archives, a bibliography of silent films worldwide. 1972-
- Gale Database of Publications and Broadcast Media
Lists advertising rates, circulation statistics, local programming, personnel, etc. for U.S. and Canadian newspapers, periodicals, radio and television stations, and cable TV companies. Also includes Directories in Print and Newsletters in Print. 2001 ed.
- Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
"This encyclopedia provides a one-stop source for theories and theoretical concepts and a relatively comprehensive overview of the entire field of communication theory."
- International Encyclopedia of Communication
Contains over 1300 entries that range across academic disciplines. Useful for topics in communication studies, sociology, psychology, information science, public policy and linguistics, among others.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Social Science Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)
Multidisciplinary database covering journal literature of the social sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts
Index of the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications.
- Search Tools: Communications Databases
View a complete listing of databases in the "Communications" category in Search Tools, the University of Michigan's gateway to electronic resources. Included in this listing will be scholarly article databases as well as a variety of other resources.
- World Press Encyclopedia
Covers over 200 countries and their press/media systems. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries include background info, economic framework, general characteristics, size and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, journalism education, more.
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.