Communication and Media

Funded by the Duke Univ, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Concentrates on: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, WWII

Global network of artists, activists, writers, pranksters, students, educators and entrepreneurs who want to advance the new social activist movement of the information age. Adbusters Media Foundation publishes Adbusters magazine.

Online archive of magazine advertisements. Fee based.

"Serves as the industry's clearinghouse, repository and distribution force for educational information and materials to improve the perception and understanding of the social, historical, cultural and economic role of advertising."

Summary info regarding all types of media research: Internet-searching behavior, shopping, television, consumer spending, advertising, social media, etc.

"The project is not activist in nature, but educates the business world as a peer through journalism, public relations, public speaking, and an interactive virtual museum collection of 1,300+ ads from around the world since 1917."

Provides market research information about the Internet, e-business, online and TV marketing and advertising, and emerging technologies, aggregated from over 1,700 sources. Includes analyst reports and daily research articles.

Created by Scott A. Lukas of Lake Tahoe Community College, the website is dedicated to understanding the contexts of sexism and advertising, gender and advertising, women and advertising, men and advertising, advertising and violence...

The Internet Archive is a public nonprofit that was founded to build an Internet Library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format.

The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.

Produces and distributes video documentaries to encourage critical thinking and debate about the relationship between media ownership, commercial media content, and the democratic demand for free flows of information, diverse representations of ideas. U-M subscription access via Kanopy Streaming Video.

Free online collection of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Features trade papers and fan magazines. Full page images available, including advertisements. From the Wisconsin Center for Film & Theater Research.

The Art, Architecture and Engineering Library (AAEL) houses a growing number of comic books and graphic novels. The collection's strengths include independent comics, mini-comics, international comics and other unusual materials.

Locate primary source archives with materials relevant to old time radio (~1930-1960) history.

"Pew Internet explores the impact of the internet on children, families, communities, the work place, schools, health care and civic/political life. The Project is nonpartisan and takes no position on policy issues."

From scholar Thomas J. Billard at Northwestern University

Discover films and videos made by trans, Two Spirit, nonbinary, intersex, & gender-nonconforming artists. Includes bibliographies on trans cinema and media studies.

Popular online site where anyone can post video content, about anything. Potential resource for tv clips, advertisements, news, popular culture, personal videos, politics, music videos, etc.