A guide to digital resources of interest to physiologists.
Last Updated: May 12, 2014
- PubMed (with MGet It links)
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 15 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides...
- Web of Science (via ISI Web of Knowledge)
Index to the journal literature in 164 scientific disciplines including biomedicine, biotechnology, and basic sciences. Includes citations, abstracts, and cited references, from 1945-present.
- SciFinder Scholar/Chemical Abstracts (UM Library Terminal Services)
Provides comprehensive, combined access to Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT databases, with patent references, over 19 million chemistry article references, and 26 million chemical substances searchable by chemical...
- BIOSIS Previews
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Contains content from journals, meetings, patents, and books, and is available 1926-present.
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Provides access to 17 indexing and abstracting databases in the life sciences.
- Conference Papers Index
Conference Papers provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences. Information is ...
- Current Contents Connect (via ISI Web of Knowledge)
Indexes the table-of-contents pages of scholarly journals, books and conference proceedings in the fields of medicine, science, engineering, the arts, social sciences, and humanities.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
Access to the MEDLINE database, non-EBM databases, and various full-image biomedical journals via Ovid's interface.
- Cochrane Library
1. Database of Systematic Reviews
2. Central Register of Controlled Trials
3. Methodology Register
4. Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
5. Health Technology Assessment Database
6. NHS Economic Evaluation Database
- ACP Journal Club
Condensed article summaries make keeping up with new literature easy. Includes EBM Reviews.
- Current Protocols Online
Provides laboratory methods in cell biology, molecular biology, cytometry, human genetics, immunology, analytical chemistry, neuroscience, protein science, toxicology and pharmacology.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Provides over 3000 peer-reviewed articles, images, a glossary of terms, news, and some multimedia files on a wide variety of life sciences topics. Released in 2001 by the Nature Publishing Group. Updated on an ongoing basis.
Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes over 2000 biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries...
- Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References
Contains electronic versions of popular reference books in a variety of disciplines.
- Methods in Enzymology
Key reference work for protocols, methods & procedures used for chemical, biochemical, cellular, biomedical, & genetic research on enzymes and related molecules.
Contains the full text of books and journals published by Springer.
Contains over 30 online textbooks, including Cardiovascular Physiology, Endocrine Physiology, Gastrointestinal Physiology, Pulmonary Physiology, and Vander's Renal Physiology.
- Nature Protocols
A journal resource for experimental and laboratory protocols for bench researchers primarily in biology and chemistry. Protocols are presented in a ’recipe’ style providing step-by-step descriptions of procedures.