Provides resources, strategies and information on conducting research in archaeology
Last Updated: Jan 2, 2013
Please help us evaluate today's lab session by completing a short form.
Use these databases to find scholarly articles in the field of archaeology
Now provided by EBSCO! Most comprehensive index of articles and monographs on anthropology, archaeology and anthropological linguistics. Covers over 2500 journals and books in series.
- ISI Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities. Search both simultaneously for coverage of most anthropology journals. Covers 1900 to the present for science and 1956 to the present for social science. Now includes Book Citation Index for science and social science books. Also now includes conference paper citations.
Database of literature on all aspects of agriculture, including paleobotany and archaeozoology.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
This journal index includes the archaeology of man-made structures, with emphasis on Europe and the Middle East, from 1977 to the present.
- BIAB: British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography
Index to books and journal articles from 1695 to the present on the archaeology of Britain and Ireland. From the Council for British Archaeology.
Includes three catalogs of publications on Roman art and archaeology, covering 1956 to the present. Includes subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt
- Abstracts in Anthropology
Classified index and abstract of all four subfields of anthropology: cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics. Includes abstracts of site reports, analytical studies, and reports on field techniques and artifacts.
- Humanities Abstracts
A former Wilson Index, HA indexes 580 humanities journals, including archaeology and history, from 1984 to the present. To broaden your results, search Humanities Abstracts together with Social Sciences Abstracts and Humanities and Social Science Retrospective: 1907-1984.
- Anthropological Literature Guide
Guide on how to find archaeology resources in Anthropological Literature, one of the two indexes that comprise AnthropologyPlus.
- Numismatic Literature
Worldwide index and abstracts of current publishing on coins and related materials, ancient to modern. Paper only: Grad Z 6866 .A1 N97, Current issues in Serials/Microforms Dept, 2nd floor, Graduate Library South
The Mirlyn catalog enables you to search and browse the University of Michigan Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
- Mirlyn Classic
The old interface of Mirlyn. You may find this easier to use for finding books or journals if you already have an author or title.
WorldCat is a world-wide library catalog. Over 62 million records describing books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials, maps, electronic resources, and much more, in over 400 different languages. Shows what materials are held by over 57,000 libraries worldwide
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.