Overview of Census programs that include data on health insurance with links to reports and data (Current Population Survey, Survey of Income & Program Participation, Small Area Health Insurance Estimates, & Analysis of Survey Underestimation of Medicaid Enrollment).
An interactive tool that provides up-to-date information on U.S. health spending by federal & local governments, private companies, & individuals, using data from the National Health Expenditure Account. From the Kaiser Family Foundation.
Provides information on how well the U.S. healthcare system is performing in terms of quality & cost. Includes excellent visualizations on health care spending, access & affordability, & more. From the Peterson Center on Healthcare & Kaiser Family Foundation.
An on-line, publicly accessible registry & repository of healthcare-related data, metadata, & standards. From AHRQ & CMS.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) (from AHRQ)
Beginning 1 March 2016, the HCUP Central Distributor will deliver HCUP Nationwide Databases via secure digital download. Once an order is complete, data purchasers will be able to access & securely download their zipped & encrypted files through their online HCUP Central Distributor account.
A free, online query system that provides access to health statistics & information on hospital inpatient & emergency department utilization, based on data from HCUP. The interface changed dramatically in Jan. 2017. Click the Tutorial button in the upper right to learn more.
Contains all National Coverage Determinations (NCDs) & Local Coverage Determinations (LCDs), local articles, & proposed NCD decisions. Note: Does not contain statistics, but does contain related information that may be useful.
Based on extensive county-level data from over 50 sources. Includes the Mapping Tool (compare availability of healthcare providers & environmental factors impacting health at county & state levels), HRCT (compare county & state available health resources & health status indicators based on selected criteria), & Databases (demographic & training information on health professions). From Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA).