Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Cartography

Information on maps and mapping agencies.

Online Cartographic Journals

Cartography and Geographic Information Science (1999 - )
A scholarly journal devoted to extending cartographic methodology. Publishes original research papers on traditional cartography, geographic information systems (GIS), and other digital mapping technologies. Content also includes technical notes, bibliographies of current literature, and reviews of books and software. Special theme-oriented issues are published periodically. This is the official journal of the International Cartographic Association (ICA).

Cartography and geographic information systems (1997 - 1999)
Previously called the American Cartographer, this journal is published quarterly by the American Congress on Surveying and Mapping. 

Imago mundi; : a periodical review of early cartography (1997- )
Imago mundi; : a periodical review of early cartography (1935 - 2003)
Imago Mundi is the only English-language scholarly periodical devoted exclusively to the history of pre-modern maps, mapping, and map-related ideas from anywhere in the world. It was founded in Berlin in 1935 by the Russian émigré Leo Bagrow as an annual publication, although only five volumes appeared between 1935 and 1948. From 1975 to 2003 publication was regular. In 2004 Imago Mundi became a biannual publication. The first volume was in German. Thereafter English was used with, very occasionally, French. After 2002 (volume 54) Imago Mundi publishes exclusively in English with foreign language abstracts (currently French, German, and Spanish). A multi-disciplinary approach was adopted in 1995. All articles represent original research, are refereed, and are well illustrated (recent volumes have included color plates). Since 1977 each volume has contained a full complement of scholarly aids in the form of book reviews, bibliography, and chronicles, all of which have made Imago Mundi a valuable journal of record as well as scholarship.

Bibliographia cartographica (1974-2004)
The Bibliographia cartographica has to published about 27,000 scientific papers in journals, anthologies and series and 5,000 monographic titles for cartography. The annual growth is about 1,500 records. Around 80 international journals are evaluated regularly.  

The Cartographic journal: journal of the British Cartographic Society (06/1964 - )
An established peer reviewed journal of record and comment containing authoritative articles and international papers on all aspects of cartography, the science and technology of presenting, communicating and analysing spatial relationships by means of maps and other geographical representations of the Earth's surface. This includes coverage of related technologies where appropriate, for example, remote sensing, geographical information systems (GIS). the Internet and global positioning systems

Cartography and geographic information systems (01/01/1997 - 04/30/1999) 
A scholarly journal devoted to extending cartographic methodology. Publishes original research papers on traditional cartography, geographic information systems (GIS), and other digital mapping technologies. Content also includes technical notes, bibliographies of current literature, and reviews of books and software. Special theme-oriented issues are published periodically. This is the official journal of the International Cartographic Association (ICA).

Cartographic perspectives : bulletin of the North American Cartographic Information Society (Mar. 1989 - )
An international journal devoted to the study and practice of cartography in all its diversity. This publication encourages creative and innovative work; it offers challenging, thoughtful, and controversial ideas about maps and cartography. It features two or three peer-reviewed research articles in each issue of CP. 

The Globe (01/01/2003 - )
The Globe (01/01/2007 - )
Includes selected papers from the Australian Map Curator's Circle annual conference, contributed articles, reviews and reports. 

Print Cartographic Journals