Midwifery

Snoezelen for Dementia

• Chung J., Lai C. Snoezelen for dementia. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2002.

Snoezelen Room

• Hauck, Y., Rivers, C., Doherty, K. Women's experiences of using a Snoezelen room during labour in Western Australia Midwifery. 2008;24(4): 460-470. 

Hospital Labor Room

• Hodnett, E., Stremler, R., Weston, J. and McKeever, P. Re‐conceptualizing the hospital labor room: The PLACE (pregnant and laboring in an ambient clinical environment) pilot trial. Birth. 2009.36:159-166. 

BirthSpace

• Jenkinson, B., Josey, N., & Kruske, S. BirthSpace: An evidence-based guide to birth environment design. Queensland Centre for Mothers & Babies: The University of Queensland. 2014.

Snoezelen vs Relaxation

• Schofield, P., Davis, B., Sensory stimulation (snoezelen) versus relaxation: a potential strategy for the management of chronic pain. Disability and Rehabilitation. 2000;22(15):675-682. 

Continuous Support

• Hodnett E, Gates S, Hofmeyr GJ, Sakala C. Continuous support for women during childbirth. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2007(3):CD003766.

Effects of Pushing Techniques

• Yildirim G, Beji NK. Effects of Pushing Techniques in Birth on Mother and Fetus: A Randomized Study. BIRTH-ISS PERINAT CARE.35(1):25-30.

Future Research Needs

• Lewis, R., McKoy, J., Andrews, J., et. al. Future research needs for strategies to reduce cesarean birth in low-risk women: Identification of future research needs from comparative effectiveness review. Birth. 35(1): 25-30. 

Labour Assessment

• Lauzon L,  Hodnett E,. Labour assessment programs to delay admission to labour wards. Cochrane database of systematic reviews (Online). 2001;2017(9):CD000936.

Passive Descent vs Immediate Pushing 

• Brancato RM, Church S, Stone PW. A Meta-Analysis of Passive Descent Versus Immediate Pushing in Nulliparous Women With Epidural Analgesia in the Second Stage of Labor. JOGNN.37(1):4-12.

Perceptions of Care

• Hosek C, Faucher MA, Lankford J, Alexander J. Perceptions of Care in Women Sent Home in Latent Labor. MCN-AM J MATERN-CHILD NURS.39(2):115-121.

Physiologic Partograph

• Neal JL, Lowe NK. Physiologic partograph to improve birth safety and outcomes among low-risk, nulliparous women with spontaneous labor onset. MED HYPOTHESES. 2011;78(2):319-326.

reVITALize Initiative

• Sharp HT, Johnson JV, Lemieux LA, Currigan SM. Executive Summary of the reVITALize Initiative: Standardizing Gynecologic Data Definitions. Obstetrics & Gynecology.129(4):603-607.

Second State w/o Epidural

• Gupta JK, Sood A, Hofmeyr GJ, Vogel JP. Position in the second stage of labour for women without epidural anaesthesia. COCHRANE DATABASE OF SYSTEMATIC REVIEWS. 2017;5(5):CD002006.

Safe Prevention

• Caughey ABMDP, Cahill AGMDM, Guise J-MMDMPH, Rouse DJMDM. Safe prevention of the primary cesarean delivery. AMER J OBSTET GYNECOL. 2014;210(3):179-193.

Reducing Primary Cesarean

Women & Infants Hospital of Rhode Island, has been working with the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) Reducing Primary Cesareans Project. Women & Infants is working with other hospitals from across the US and ACNM to improve healthy outcomes for mothers and families by focusing on reducing the incidence of first cesarean sections in low-risk women who have never given birth.

Reading List

RPC-Promoting Comfort Bundle

• Adachi K, Shimada M, Usui A. The relationship between parturients positions and perceptions of labor pain intensity. Nurs Res. 2003; 52(1):47-51.
• Adams ED, Bianchi AL. A practical approach to labor support. J Obstet Gynecol Neonatal Nurs. 2008.
• Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses. AWHONN position statement. Nursing support of laboring women. J Obstet Gyncol Neonatal Nurs. 2011.
• Elwyn G, Frosch D, Thomson R, et al. Shared decision making: a model for clinical practice. J Gen Intern Med. 2012.
• Gee RE, Corry MP. Patient engagement and shared decision making in maternity care. Obstet Gynecol. 2012.
• Gulliver BG, Fisher J, Roberts L. A new way to assess pain in laboring women: replacing the rating scale with a “coping” algorithm. Nurs Womens Health. 2008.
• Hodnett ED, Fisher J, Roberts L. A new way to assess pain in laboring women: replacing the rating scale with a “coping” algorithm. Nurs Womens Health. 2008.
• Hodnett ED, Gates S, Hofmeyr GJ, Sakala C. Continuous support for women during childbirth. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2013.
• Kemp E, Kingswood CJ, Kibuka M, Thornton JG. Position in the second stage of labor for women with epidural anaesthesia. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2013.
• Lawrence A, Lewis L, Hofmeyr GJ, Styles C. Maternal positions and mobility during the first stage of labour. Cochrane Database Syst Review. 2013.
• Lothian JA. Listening to Mothers II: knowledge, decision-making, and attendance at childbirth education classes. J Perinat Educ. 2007.
• Miquelutti MA, Cecatti JG, Makuch MY. Upright position during the first stage of labor: a randomised controlled trial. Act Obstst Gynecol Scand. 2007.
• Quality patient care in labor and delivery: a call to action. J Midwifery Womens Health. 2012.
• Roberts L, Gulliver B, Fisher J, Cloyes KG. The coping with labor algorithm: an alternate pain assessment tool for the laboring women. J Midwifery Women’s Health. 2010.
• Simkin P, Bolding A. Update on nonpharmacologic approaches to relieve labor pain and prevent suffering. J Midwifery Women’s Health. 2004.
• Ten Hoope-Bender P, de Bernis L, Campbell J, et al. Improvement of maternal and newborn health through midwifery. Lancet. 2014.

Assess Pain

• Gulliver B., Fisher J., Roberts L. A new way to assess pain in laboring women: replacing the rating scale with a "coping" algorithm. Nursing for women's health. 2008;12:404-8. 

Continuous Support

• Hodnett E., Gates S., Hofmeyr G.J., Sakala C. Continuous support for women during childbirth. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2007:CD003766.

Coping With Labor Algorithm

• Roberts L, Gulliver B, Fisher J, Cloyes KG. The coping with labor algorithm: An alternate pain assessment tool for the laboring woman. J MIDWIFERY WOMEN HEALTH. 55:107-16. 2010.

Listening to Mothers

• Lothian JA. Listening to mothers II: Knowledge, decision-making, and attendance at childbirth education classes. Journal of Perinatal Education. 2007;16:62-7. 

Maternal and Newborn Health

• ten Hoope-Bender, P., de Bernis, L., Campbell, J., et al. Improvement of maternal and newborn health through midwifery. LANCET. 2014; 384:1226-35. 

Maternal Positions

• Lawrence, A., Lewis, L., Hofmeyr, G.J., Styles, C. Maternal positions and mobility during first stage labour. COCHRANE DATABASE SYST REV. 2013;10. 

Nonpharmacologic Approaches

• Simkin P., Bolding A. Update on nonpharmacologic approaches to relieve labor pain and prevent suffering. Journal of Midwifery & Womenʼs Health. 2004; 49:489-504. 

Nurses as Providers

• Hodnett E.D., Lowe N.K., Hannah M.E., et al. Effectiveness of nurses as providers of birth labor support in north american hospitals: A randomized controlled trial. JAMA-J AM MED ASSN. 2002;288:1373-81. 

Nursing Support

• Nursing support of laboring women. Nursing for Women’s Health. 2011;15:448-9. 

Parturient's Positions and Perceptions

• Adachi K., Shimada M., Usui A. The relationship between the parturient's positions and perceptions of labor pain intensity. NURS RES. 2003;52:47-51. 

Patient Engagement

• Gee R.E., Corry M.P. Patient engagement and shared decision making in maternity care. OBSTET GYNECOL. 2012;120:995-7.

Position-Second Stage

• Gupta J.K., Sood A., Hofmeyr G.J., Vogel J.P. Position in the second stage of labour for women without epidural anaesthesia. COCHRANE DATABASE OF SYSTEMATIC REVIEWS. 2017;5. 

Practical Approach

• Adams E.D., Bianchi A.L. A practical approach to labor support. Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic & Neonatal Nursing. 2008;37:106-15. 

Quality Patient Care

• Lawrence H., Copel J., O'Keeffe D., et al. Quality patient care in labor and delivery: a call to action. AMER J OBSTET GYNECOL. 2012;207:147-8. 

Shared Decision Making

• Elwyn G, Frosch D, Thomson R, et al. Shared decision making: a model for clinical practice. J GEN INTERN MED. 2012;27:1361-7.

Upright Position

• Miquelutti A., Cecatti G., Makuch Y. Upright position during the first stage of labor: a randomised controlled trial. ACTA OBSTET GYNECOL SCAND. 2007;86:553-8. 

2008 National Institute

• MacOnes GA, Hankins GDV, Spong CY, Hauth J, Moore T. The 2008 National Institute of Child Health and Human Development workshop report on electronic fetal monitoring: Update on definitions, interpretation, and research guidelines. OBSTET GYNECOL.112(3):661-666.

Antenatal Fetal Surveillance

• Malcus P. Antenatal fetal surveillance. CURR OPIN OBSTET GYNECOL.16(2):123-128.

Can Nurses Change the Culture of Technology?

• Tillett J. Intermittent Auscultation of the Fetal Heartbeat: Can Nurses Change the Culture of Technology? J PERINAT NEONATAL NURS.21(2):80-82.

Cardiotocography vs Intermittent Auscultation

• Devane D, Lalor JG, Daly S, McGuire W, Cuthbert A, Smith V. Cardiotocography versus intermittent auscultation of fetal heart on admission to labour ward for assessment of fetal wellbeing. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.2017(1):CD005122.

Consensus Opinion on Fetal Health Surveillance

• Introduction. Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada (JOGC), 2007;29(9): S7-S8. 

Consumer Information

• Torres J, De Vries R, Low LK. Consumer Information on Fetal Heart Rate Monitoring During Labor. J PERINAT NEONATAL NURS. 2014;28(2):135-143.

Continuous Cardiotocography

• Alfirevic Z, Devane D, Gyte GML, Cuthbert A. Continuous cardiotocography (CTG) as a form of electronic fetal monitoring (EFM) for fetal assessment during labour. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.2017(2):CD006066.

Fetal Acidemia and Electronic Fetal Heart Rate Patterns

• Parer JT, King T, Flanders S, Fox M, Kilpatrick SJ. Fetal acidemia and electronic fetal heart rate patterns: Is there evidence of an association? J MATERN-FETAL NEONATAL MED. 2006;19(5):289-294.

Dublin Study

• MacDonald D, Grant A, Sheridan-Pereira M, Boylan P, Chalmers I. The Dublin randomized controlled trial of intrapartum fetal heart rate monitoring. AMER J OBSTET GYNECOL. 1985;152(5):524-539.

Fetal Health Surveillance

• Liston RMD, Sawchuck DRNP, Young DMD, et al. Fetal Health Surveillance: Antepartum and Intrapartum Consensus Guideline. Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada (JOGC). 2007;29(9):S3-S4.

Fetal Health Surveillance Guideline

• Liston, R. M., Diane, S., & David, C. Y. Fetal health surveillance guideline: antenatal and intrapartum consensus. Journal of obstetrics and gynaecology Canada : JOGC = Journal d'obstetrique et gynecologie du Canada : JOGC. 2007;29(12), 972-972. 

Fetal Heart Monitoring

• Fetal Heart Monitoring. Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic & Neonatal Nursing, 44(5), 683-686. 

Intermittent Auscultation

• Intermittent ascultation for intrapartum fetal heart rate surveillance (replaces ACNM Clinical Bulletin #9, March 2007). Journal of Midwifery and Women's Health. 2010;55(4):397-403.

Intermittent Auscultation of the Fetal Heart Rate During Labor

• Hersh S, Megregian M, Emeis C. Intermittent Auscultation of the Fetal Heart Rate During Labor: An Opportunity for Shared Decision Making. Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health.59(3):344-349.

Intrapartum Care

• Delgado Nunes V, Gholitabar M, Sims JM, Bewley S. Intrapartum care of healthy women and their babies: summary of updated NICE guidance. BMJ : British Medical Journal.349(dec03 6):g6886-g6886.

Intrapartum electronic Fetal Monitoring vs. Intermittent Auscultation

• Madaan M, Trivedi SS. Intrapartum electronic fetal monitoring vs. intermittent auscultation in postcesarean pregnancies. INT J GYNECOL OBSTET. 2006;94(2):123-125.

Intrapartum Fetal Surveillance

• Intrapartum Fetal Surveillance. Journal of obstetrics and gynaecology Canada : JOGC = Journal d'obstetrique et gynecologie du Canada : JOGC. 2007;29(9):S25-S44.

Maintaining Standards

• Maintaining Standards in Antenatal and Intrapartum Fetal Surveillance: Quality Improvement and Risk Management. Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada (JOGC). 2007;29(9):S45-S49.

Management of Intrapartum Fetal Heart Rate Tracings

• Management of intrapartum fetal heart rate tracings. OBSTET GYNECOL.116(5):1232-1240.

Nurses' Attitudes

• Walker DS, Shunkwiler S, Supanich J, Williamsen J, Yensch A. Labor and delivery nurses’ attitudes toward intermittent fetal monitoring. J MIDWIFERY WOMEN HEALTH. 2001;46(6):374-380.

Pain and Women's Satisfaction 

• Hodnett ED. Pain and women's satisfaction with the experience of childbirth: A systematic review. AMER J OBSTET GYNECOL. 2002;186(5):S160-S172.

Prevention of Perinatal Brain Injury

• Graham EM, Petersen SM, Christo DK, Fox HE. Intrapartum electronic fetal heart rate monitoring and the prevention of perinatal brain injury. OBSTET GYNECOL. 2006;108(3):656-666.

Recommendations

• Recommendations. Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada (JOGC). 2007;29(9):S5-S6.

References

• References. Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada (JOGC). 2007;29(9):S50-S56.