This page provides resources to help you identify policies at the federal and state and local level, including COVID-19 policies.. As part of your policy analysis, you can also look for policy-related studies in peer-reviewed literature. Resources in the newssection of this guide can help you identify policies being discussed.
Additional Policy Tracking and Surveillance Tools
Below is a small sample of tracking and surveillance tools. Other tools exist, so be sure to look online for tools in your area of interest. The Public Health Law Research's report "Resources for Policy Surveillance" can direct you to many organizations. You can also look at PARTNERS legislative resources for additional policy aggregating tools.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials. Includes federal laws, regluations, case law, and reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and more
Provides the ability to conduct a national legislative search and to develop a topic-related or bill specific e-mail alert to track legislation for one state. You can also create and share basic reports. Use the free registration to get started.
Provides a way to assess the equity implications of existing or
proposed laws or policies. It can assist in identifying issues in the drafting, design, or implementation of a law or policy that could have a disproportionate impact on different population groups.
This is the only resource to provide a step-by-step framework and expert guidance for preparing a policy analysis final paper or a capstone project for courses in health policy and health policy analysis.
Provides guidance on what to think about when designing an evaluation..outlines how thinking about evaluation before and during policy-making can improve the quality of results produced to evaluate that policy.
provides an overview and typology of different types of policy analytic activities, characterizing them according to differences in character and leading values, and linking them to a variety of theoretical notions on policymaking. Thereby, it provides assistance to both end users and analysts in choosing an appropriate approach given a specific policy situation.
This document is a “how to” guide for planning and implementing evaluation activities. The manual, based on CDC’s Framework for Program Evaluation in Public Health, is intended to assist managers and staff of public, private, and community public health programs to plan, design, implement and use comprehensive evaluations in a practical way.