What's on this Page
This page focuses on finding information on healthcare access. The National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports can be found here: https://www.ahrq.gov/research/findings/nhqrdr/index.html
Featured Resource: Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
Article Databases
- PubMed @ U-M (with MGet It links) This link opens in a new windowThe premier biomedical database, from the National Library of Medicine. Useful MeSH terms include health services accessibility, medically underserved area, health equity, healthcare disparities.
- Global Health (CABI) This link opens in a new windowA public health database that includes information on health disparities, non-communicable diseases, food safety, & more.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple ProQuest databases together, including Social Services Abstracts, Nursing & Allied Health Source, & ProQuest Research Library.
- PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles on heath care accessibility more broadly, as well as mental health care accessibility.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA set of interdisciplinary databases, with more international literature than PubMed. Also good for cited reference searching.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA set of interdisciplinary databases that allows you to search for social science, in addition to biological & health sciences. Also good for cited reference searching.
Subject-Specific Resources
- Access to Health Services - Healthy People 2030From the Office of Disease Prevention & Health Promotion.
- Kaiser Family FoundationSearch for "access to care".
Laws
- ‘Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act: Legislative HistoryPart 1 of the Affordable Care Act.
- Health - State LawsSee especially Health Insurance, Medicaid & CHIP & Special Populations. From the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL).
Last Updated: Feb 14, 2025 3:09 PM