What's on this Page
This page focuses on expenditures, pricing, and CMS information. See the Health Statistics Guide for utilization resources.
Featured Resource | Centers for Medicare and Medicaid l Expenditures l Health Care Cost & Utilization Project l Pricing
Featured Resource: California Health Care Foundation
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) (from AHRQ)
Beginning 1 March 2016, the HCUP Central Distributor will deliver HCUP Nationwide Databases via secure digital download. Once an order is complete, data purchasers will be able to access & securely download their zipped & encrypted files through their online HCUP Central Distributor account.
- Data SourcesA handy chart that will help you decide what source to use for a particular question.
- HCUP FastStatsA tool to analyze hospital discharge data, allowing comparisons by by payer group, condition, & state. From AHRQ.
- HCUP Methods SeriesA broad array of methodological information on the HCUP databases and software tools.
- HCUPnetA free, online query system that provides access to health statistics & information on hospital inpatient & emergency department utilization, based on data from HCUP. The interface changed dramatically in Jan. 2017. Click the Tutorial button in the upper right to learn more.
- HCUP Online TutorialsFree, interactive courses that provide HCUP users with information about HCUP data and tools.
- HCUP Statistical Briefs by TopicSimple, descriptive statistics on a variety of specific, focused topics.
- HCUP Tools & SoftwareIncludes HCUPnet, AHRQ Quality Indicators, Clinical Classifications & Utilization Flags software, & more.
- Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)Healthcare databases from AHRQ, including the National (Nationwide) Inpatient Sample (NIS), Kids’ Inpatient Database (KID), & the Nationwide Emergency Department Sample (NEDS) & more. Please note that NIS is now a sample of discharges from all hospitals participating in HCUP, rather than a sample of hospitals & all discharges from those hospitals.
- Open PaymentsSearch for economic relationships between doctors, hospitals & health care manufacturing companies. A part of the ACA, payment records begin in 2013.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
- Data CompendiumContains historic, current, & projected data on Medicare enrollment & Medicaid recipients, expenditures, & utilization.
- Medicare Claims Synthetic Public Use Files (SynPUFs)Medicare claims data that protects beneficiary privacy; similar to the CMS Limited Data Sets, but with a smaller number of variables.
- Medicare Coverage Database (MCD)Contains all National Coverage Determinations (NCDs) & Local Coverage Determinations (LCDs), local articles, & proposed NCD decisions. Note: Does not contain statistics, but does contain related information that may be useful.
- Medicare Enrollment ReportsMedicare enrollment tables individually available for download.
- Medicare Geographic VariationPublic use file, plus an interactive dashboard that presents information on state-level variation in standardized per-capita costs for the Medicare fee-for-service population.
- Medicare Provider Charge DataCompares the charges for the 100 most common inpatient services & 30 common outpatient services, with breakdowns by Physicians & Other Providers, Inpatients, & Outpatients.
- National Health Expenditure DataFrom the National Health Expenditure Accounts.
- Research, Statistics, Data, & SystemsPortal for all CMS data.
- Quality-Spending InteractiveView the relationship between Medicare quality & spending by state & local area. From the RWJ Foundation.
Pricing
- Health Care Cost Institute (HCCI)Information about health care utilization & costs, from a non-partisan, non-profit organization with a public-interest mission.
- guroo.comData on health care costs & quality, with national, state, & local prices. Search by condition, treatment, or test. Information comes from HCCI.
Expenditures
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Data CompendiumDownload sections of each data compendium by year.
- Dartmouth Atlas of Health CareDocument variations in how medical resources are distributed & used in the US, using Medicare data.
- Data SourcesA handy chart that will help you decide what source to use for a particular question.
- FastStats - Health ExpendituresFrom the National Center for Health Statistics.
- Health Insurance - Census BureauOverview of Census programs that include data on health insurance with links to reports and data (Current Population Survey, Survey of Income & Program Participation, Small Area Health Insurance Estimates, & Analysis of Survey Underestimation of Medicaid Enrollment).
- Health Policy Center - Urban InstituteReports and statistical tables on private insurance, uninsured, Medicaid & State Children's Health Insurance Program, Medicare, disability & long-term care, and vulnerable populations.
- Health Spending ExplorerAn interactive tool that provides up-to-date information on U.S. health spending by federal & local governments, private companies, & individuals, using data from the National Health Expenditure Account. From the Kaiser Family Foundation.
- Medical Expenditure Panel Survey: Data & StatisticsIncludes MEPSNet Query Tools, a collection of analytical tools that operate on MEPS data.
- Peterson-Kaiser Health System TrackerProvides information on how well the U.S. healthcare system is performing in terms of quality & cost. Includes excellent visualizations on health care spending, access & affordability, & more.
- State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC)Create customized reports on state-level health insurance coverage, access, & cost.
Last Updated: Nov 19, 2024 1:46 PM