Library Contact
Clark Library
Hatcher Graduate Library 2 South
Background Information on Issues
-
CQ Researcher, 1923 - presentCQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each article provides an introductory overview, background information , and pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions. Articles also provide extensive bibliographies for further research.
-
ProQuest Trends and Policy This link opens in a new windowBrings together government information and news content organized by policy area and timeline.
-
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowFull text of balanced, accurate discussions of over 250 controversial topics in the news supplemented with chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, contact information, and bibliographies including primary source documents and news editorials.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowCovers current social and cultural issues, and includes pro and con "viewpoint" essays, topic overviews, primary sources, and news articles.
Starting Research on US Policy? Look for a CRS Report
-
CRS ReportsReports from 2018- available directly and without charge from the Congressional Research Service
-
ProQuest Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports (1916-present)The CRS works exclusively and directly for Members of Congress, their Committees and staff on a confidential, nonpartisan basis. Their reports are written at the request of members and provide good summaries of policy or background information on a matter of interest to Congress. U-M access only
Starting Research on State Policies? Search NCSL for an Overview
-
National Conference of State LegislaturesNCSL provides detailed overviews and 50 state comparisons of state bills and laws
Search NCSL by a broad topic then filter results. Click on Database under the heading "Resources Include"
Find an Association
One way to figure out what policymakers are doing in an area is to find their professional associations. Think about what level or branch of government and then search for a national association devoted to that group. Once you find the association see if you can find a resource or issues page
Another way to find association information is to use domain searching. In google, search for your keyword and then include site:[domain url]. The example below is searching for covid-19 information from the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)
Here are other examples of associations
Use Domain Searching in Google
Search for information from a government or organization by using Google domain search. Enter your keywords and then add site:[url of website]
This can be useful also when looking for information from the military (.mil) or a state (Michigan is .michigan.gov) or a city (Detroit is .detroit.mi.gov)