Library Contact
Asia Library
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
Acknowledgment
This research guide is created with the help from Professor Emily Wilcox (U-M Department of Asian Languages and Cultures) and Ruby Macdougall (PhD Student, U-M ALC). The U-M Lieberthal-Rogel Center for Chinese Studies provided generous funding support to hire the student assistant in early stage of producing this research guide.
Feedback
Introduction to this Research Guide
This research guide is designed to provide an introduction to the wide ranging resources for Chinese dance research available through the U-M Library. Our Chinese Dance Collection, including rare items, digital archive, and multi-media materials, is the largest of its kind in North America. The Library also holds a sizeable collection of circulating materials on Chinese dance. As our collection grows, we will frequently add new resources to the research guide so be sure to visit the site again for updates!
- On this page you will find links to helpful U-M Library research guides and links to relevant U-M centers and departments. We also have a feedback box where you can send questions, ideas, and resources you would like us to add to the research guide or to the collection.
- On the page titled U-M Chinese Dance Collection you will find introductions to the four sections of the collection, including rare materials, "Pioneers of Chinese Dance" digital archive, the Audrey Moo Hing Jung Collection, and secondary source materials. You will also find samples of helpful databases that can connect you to dance sources written in both Chinese and English.
- On the page titled Featured Items you will be able to explore our collection by clicking selected items on different topics and in diverse formats. Your serendipity may start right here!
- On the page titled Exhibitions and Events you will find creative and collaborative projects that grow out of our Chinese Dance Collection.
- On the page titled Useful Links you will find links to outside sources that can help to expand your search.
Other Helpful Research Guides
University of Michigan Centers and Departments
- Lieberthal-Rogel Center for Chinese StudiesKenneth G. Lieberthal and Richard H. Rogel Center for Chinese Studies (LRCCS) is the premier place on the University of Michigan campus to gain access to resources on China, including leading scholars, ongoing projects, and funding for faculty and student research. It houses experts in nearly every major facet of Chinese studies ranging from literature and history to law and public health.
- Asian Languages and CulturesThe Department of Asian Languages and Cultures (ALC) is a center for the exploration of the humanities of Asia, where students are invited to cross the boundaries of nations (including China, India, Indonesia, Japan, and Korea) and of disciplines (including literature, film, language, religion, and history) in order develop two vital qualities: a deep local knowledge and a broad global perspective.
- Department of DanceDance at U-M offers a winning combination: a world class dance education within a leading research university. An extraordinary breadth of resources enables our students to bridge knowledge across disciplines and communities and to gain an understanding of dance as a significant mode of inquiry.
- Center for World Performance StudiesThe Center for World Performance Studies (CWPS) served the needs of faculty and a student body with an interest in the discipline of Performance Studies, expressly through a global lens. CWPS has worked to offer a multidisciplinary space for artists, performers, scholars, and the community for intellectual interactions and public performances. As part of the University of Michigan’s Residential College, CWPS is situated at an exciting intersection of scholarly, creative, community and critical practices.