Health - Innovation & Entrepreneurship - An Information Resource Starter Kit - Research Guides at University of Michigan Library

Background Information

AccessMedicine
This resource includes over 30 clinical and educational online textbooks, and provides access to information for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, and self-assessment or board review.
Clinical Trials

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the point of care.

STAT!Ref
81 leading full-text online textbooks in a variety of disciplines. Includes Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and 5-Minute Clinical Consult.
UM Clinical References

EMBASE.com This link opens in a new window
More than 16 billion validated biomedical and pharmacological records from EMBASE and MEDLINE.
Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Provides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in over 5000 journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier Books & Journals Online) This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 2,000 journals and 20,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers.

SciFinder
Must register first: guides.lib.umich.edu/scifinder
Taubman Health Sciences Library Databases
Use the "Quick Links" on the left-navigation bar to get to the top used databases.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covering 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines, the Web of Science Core Collection combines seven citation indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address.

Facts and Comparisons eAnswers
Information on nonprescription and prescription drugs, drug interactions, herbal interactions, off-label uses, manufacturers, and drugs in the news.
Micromedex Knowledge Bases
Contains extensive monographs (entries) with references to journal literature.
NatMed Pro
An international research collaboration that synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies.
more...less...
...in making safe therapeutic decisions. Information is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed by a multi-disciplinary editorial board.
Orangebook
FDA Approved Drugs

Device Listing Database Search - FDA
Devices@FDA
A catalog of cleared and approved medical device information
Drugs@FDA
Search by drug name, active ingredient, or application number
Medevnet
Portal to the medical device industry. Provides medical company, product and service information.
Medical Expo
Browse or search for medical device products and companies. Subscribe to their newsletter to get updates on products of interest.
Product Code Classification Database - FDA
Developed by the Center for Devices and Radiological Health.
Releasable 510(k) Database - FDA