A guide to resources on finding and utilizing health statistics.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2015
- Current Index to Statistics
A bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields.
Search for data by indicators & location & easily create custom reports.
- FastStats A-Z
Provides quick access to statistics on public health topics. From the National Center for Health Statistics.
- Health and Medical Care Archive - Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Includes surveys of health care professionals and organizations, investigations of access to medical care, surveys on substance abuse, and evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care.
- Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX)
Focuses on humanitarian data, aggregating existing data from a variety of sources, including WHO, the Red Cross, Gapminder, & more.
- LexisNexis Statistical Universe
- National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
NCHS compiles statistical information to guide policy regarding the health of the nation.
- ProQuest International Datasets
Public & private data sets from national governments, international organizations, & research firms, including sub-national data (by country, city, state, or province).
Open datasets from over 400 sources (social, financial, & economic) that you can download, visualize, save, share, & more.
- Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)
Contains over 600 premier datasets, such as American Family Data Archive & AIDS/STI Data Archive.
View Health & Pharmaceuticals statistics under Markets > Categories.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The authoritative & comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, & economic organization of the U.S., published through 2012.
- WHO Global Health Observatory
Provides a statistical view of the health of the world on a variety of health topics.
It can be challenging to find and interpret health statistics. If you're having trouble finding or using statistics, these guides are a good place to start:
View these resources from other universities and organizations for more information about finding and utilizing health statistics.