- University of Michigan Library
- Research Guides
- UMMS Health Policy and Health Economics Path of Excellence - An Information Resource Starter Kit
- News Sources
UMMS Health Policy and Health Economics Path of Excellence - An Information Resource Starter Kit
Find information resources, skills and strategies to support the University of Michigan Medical School's Health Economics and Policy Path of Excellence.
Highlighted Resource: AllSides
As a way to combat misinformation, this resource presents information and ideas from all sides of the political spectrum.
General News Databases
- Access World News (Newsbank)Search hundreds of U.S. newspapers at the same time, along with some international. Includes many local and regional US papers.
- C-SPANProvides links to current events issues, public offices, and other programming events. Offers live audio and video. Also provides links to related networks, including C-SPAN 2, C-SPAN 3, WCSP Radio 90.1 FM.
- FactivaThis database offers full text articles in 6,000 trade publications, newspapers, newswires and magazines as well as company and industry financial data and news stories.
- Nexis UniClick "News" tab to search through US and international newspapers, some radio and TV broadcast transcripts, non-English news sources, and business and industry news. Includes New York Times and Washington Post from recent years.
- PressReaderView *images* of the last 60 days of over 300 newspapers from around the world. The newspapers include the same content and are in the same format as the print edition of the newspaper. Includes photographs and advertisements.
- US NewsstreamFull text of issues from recent decades of 1,300+ English-language newspapers from across the U.S. and around the world, including Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Jerusalem Post, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, etc...
US Politics
- Government and Politics News from Nexis UniSearch political news sources including the Federal News Service back to 1988, Roll Call back to December 1989, The Hill back to 1995
Stay informed: Blogs, News, Podcasts
Watchdog or fact-checking sites
Journalists or other organizations who check for accuracy in political discourse. Use these sites to find discussions of specific campaign ads, or assess the validity of claims made in campaign advertisements.
- FactCheck.OrgFrom the Annenberg Center; check the accuracy of statements, including advertisements, from politicians, pundits and special interest groups.
- Michigan Truth SquadEvaluate the truth and accuracy of Michigan political advertisements. Click on "past calls" to view evaluations of specific advertisements.
- Politifact.comRun by the St. Petersburg Times, the site's "Truth-o-meter" helps separate "fact from fiction" in political statements, including advertisements, from races around the country.
- Project Vote SmartCheck voting records, background, and public statements of candidates from around the country.
- ProPublicaProPublica is an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest.
- Fact Checker (Washington Post)From columnist Glenn Kessler, focusing on accuracy of statements of political figures "regarding issues of great importance, be they national, international or local."
- International Fact-Checking NetworkSupported by Poynter, provides resources and training for fact-checkers around the world.