UMMS Health Policy and Health Economics Path of Excellence - An Information Resource Starter Kit

A bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields.

Search for data by indicators & location & easily create custom reports. From the Population Reference Bureau.

Provides quick access to statistics on public health topics, including births & deaths. From the National Center for Health Statistics.

A statistical view of the health of the world, from the World Health Organization.

Download sections of each data compendium by year.

Document variations in how medical resources are distributed & used in the US, using Medicare data.

A handy chart that will help you decide what source to use for a particular question.

From the National Center for Health Statistics.

Search results of studies related to healthcare services. Use options in the right hand bar to filter results.

Reports and statistical tables on private insurance, uninsured, Medicaid & State Children's Health Insurance Program, Medicare, disability & long-term care, and vulnerable populations.

Includes MEPSNet Query Tools, a collection of analytical tools that operate on MEPS data.

Query tools for data from the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (above).

Create customized reports on state-level health insurance coverage, access, & cost.

Overview of Census programs that include data on health insurance with links to reports and data (Current Population Survey, Survey of Income & Program Participation, Small Area Health Insurance Estimates, & Analysis of Survey Underestimation of Medicaid Enrollment).

Includes Fast Facts on US Hospitals.

Information on the number of beds, zip codes of patients, cost & revenue information, teaching status, ownership information, & more.

Provides online Medicare cost report data from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

From the National Center for Health Statistics.

Comparable data on quality of care at hospitals.

Tracks trends affecting hospitals & health care organizations & factors that influence the use of health care resources, the quality of health care, & disparities in health care services in the US. Integrates the National Hospital Discharge Survey & National Hospital Medical Care Ambulatory Survey. From the National Center for Health Statistics.

An on-line, publicly accessible registry & repository of healthcare-related data, metadata, & standards. From AHRQ & CMS.

A handy chart that will help you decide what source to use for a particular question.

A broad array of methodological information on the HCUP databases and software tools.

Free, interactive courses that provide HCUP users with information about HCUP data and tools.

Simple, descriptive statistics on a variety of specific, focused topics.

Includes HCUPnet, AHRQ Quality Indicators, Clinical Classifications & Utilization Flags software, & more.

A free, online query system that provides access to health statistics & information on hospital inpatient & emergency department utilization, based on data from HCUP. The interface changed dramatically in Jan. 2017. Click the Tutorial button in the upper right to learn more.

Healthcare databases from AHRQ, including the National (Nationwide) Inpatient Sample (NIS), Kids’ Inpatient Database (KID), & the Nationwide Emergency Department Sample (NEDS) & more. Please note that NIS is now a sample of discharges from all hospitals participating in HCUP, rather than a sample of hospitals & all discharges from those hospitals.

Based on extensive county-level data from over 50 sources. Includes the Mapping Tool (compare availability of healthcare providers & environmental factors impacting health at county & state levels), HRCT (compare county & state available health resources & health status indicators based on selected criteria), & Databases (demographic & training information on health professions). From Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA).

Includes projections of future needs, national sample surveys of supply & demand, & the US Health Workforce Chartbook.

Data on the supply & demand for health workers in the U.S., including tools & resources to inform decision-making on health care workforce investments.

Includes the Global Atlas of the Health Workforce.

Portal for all CMS data.

Medicare claims data that protects beneficiary privacy; similar to the CMS Limited Data Sets, but with a smaller number of variables.

Contains all National Coverage Determinations (NCDs) & Local Coverage Determinations (LCDs), local articles, & proposed NCD decisions. Note: Does not contain statistics, but does contain related information that may be useful.

Medicare enrollment tables individually available for download.

Public use file, plus an interactive dashboard that presents information on state-level variation in standardized per-capita costs for the Medicare fee-for-service population.

Compares the charges for the 100 most common inpatient services & 30 common outpatient services, with breakdowns by Physicians & Other Providers, Inpatients, & Outpatients.

Contains historic, current, & projected data on Medicare enrollment & Medicaid recipients, expenditures, & utilization.