Funding Proposal Tools

National Funding Resources available to postdoctoral fellows.

Unique databases of information on the nearly 100,000 foundations, corporate donors, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S. and 2.1 million of their recent grants.

The Open Society Foundations works to establish health policies and practices that are based on evidence and promote social inclusion, human rights, and justice. Grants are available throughout the year.

Applications are encouraged from investigators in diverse fields including sociology, economics, political science, education, anthropology, history, health and social policy, public health, medicine, nursing, allied health, law, business, philosophy, ethics, journalism, social work, the management sciences and other fields

ScanGrants collects a wide variety of foundation offered grants that share a similar goal to enhance individual and community health.

Idealist is a great tool to research non-profit organizations and foundations worldwide, including their database of internships and jobs.

Comprehensive, searchable database of non-profit global health organizations (for internships and jobs).

A one-year interdisciplinary, mentored fellowship program focused on health-related community service and leadership development.

Sub-section on Health, Education, and Human Services Fellowships.

The AAUW Educational Foundation, which is the largest source of funding exclusively for graduate women in the world, supports aspiring scholars around the globe, teachers and activists in local communities, women at critical stages of their careers, and those pursuing professions where women are underrepresented.

The Dow Sustainability Fellows Program at the University of Michigan supports full-time graduate students and postdoctoral scholars at the University of Michigan who are committed to finding interdisciplinary, actionable, and meaningful sustainability solutions on local-to-global scales.

A leadership program and field training initiative focused on hunger, poverty, and social justice.

Includes the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH) Fellows Program, a professional development program for graduates of accredited US Schools of Public Health. Graduates apply to ASPPH in December or January for one-year placements in EPA laboratories or offices to work on high-priority, environmental, public health issues.

Two fellowship offerings focusing on social justice through health care advocacy and health care justice issues.

12 week paid summer internships from the Kaiser Family Foundation with placement at a list of highly reputable news organizations across America. Deadline to apply in November of the year before.

The Fellowship Office of Policy and Global Affairs administers predoctoral, dissertation, postdoctoral, and other fellowship programs for advanced study in research-based disciplines.

A flagship 2 year leadership development program from the US Office of Personnel Management.

Includes teaching fellowships and higher education fellowships to address emerging needs, serve specific populations underrepresented in the academy, strengthen designated fields, and support key stages in professorial careers.

Internships include a cohort summer program based in Washington, DC and international placements and internships on-demand and upon-request.

Manages programs that provide funds to University of Michigan students, faculty, and visiting scholars engaged in gender-focused research.

The Ginsberg Student Fellowships provide University of Michigan students with an opportunity to make a significant contribution to a community in partnership with a community-based organization.

IRWG’s funding possibilities include: graduate student Community of Scholars summer fellowship program, the graduate student Research Award Program and the Gender and Global Health Program.

Through the Life Sciences Institute.

From U of M's International Institute, this fellowship provides tuition support and a stipend to students studying designated foreign languages in combination with international aspects of professional studies. The program's priority is to encourage the study of less commonly taught languages.

The scholarships listed are administered by the U-M Office of Financial Aid (OFA). All scholarships listed are for U-M students on the Ann Arbor campus. (Complete list!)

A list of fellowships, grants, and scholarships administered by Rackham and available for students. Includes information about application deadlines and links to individual applications.

Fulbright-Fogarty Awards offered in partnership between the Fulbright Program and the Fogarty International Center of the U.S. National Institutes of Health have been established to promote the expansion of research in public health and clinical research in resource-limited settings.

An initiative of the European Foundation Center Orpheus Programme, Funders Online provides a public record of over 750 foundations and corporate funders active in Europe.

The Luce Scholars Program provides stipends and internships for 18 young Americans to live and work in Asia each year.

Grant listings for individuals, listings feature and international focus.

Boren Graduate Fellowships provide up to $30,000 to U.S. graduate students to add an important international and language component to their graduate education through specialization in area study, language study, or increased language proficiency.

Open to Ph.D students who are U.S. or Israeli citizens.

Students pursuing a professional degree in public health at the University of Michigan are invited to apply for financial support for summer internships that entail experience and training in global health.

A collection of grants intended to enable international study and research.

Links to Fastweb's listing for scholarships for first year graduate students.

Links to scholarship search options from the federal government, including a scholarship search through the U.S. Department of Education.

The Department of Labor's scholarship search tool.

eBook that requires UM authentication for access.

A listing from the Accredited Schools and Programs of Public Health, including fellowships from ASPPH, Centers for Disease Control, Dept. of Transportation, & the Environmental Protection Agency.

Includes a variety of international grants and fellowships in biomedical and behavioral research. Opportunities for graduate student, postdocs, and health professionals.

Managed by the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) this is an excellent compilation of fellowship opportunities from the Federal government. Search for "public health". Notable fellowships include the Public Health Informatics Fellowship with the CDC, and the Health Policy Fellowship with Health & Human Services.