Market Research
To get started with Market Research, consult our guide:
Engineering Marketing Research Resources
For in-depth Market Research Questions, consult the business librarians at Kresge Library.
UM's Kresge Business Library at Ross School of Business
Kresge Library Homepage
kresge_library@umich.edu
Sources for Background Information
When starting to research your design problem, you want to locate background information on all the topics or technologies involved. The resources below will give brief overview articles on specific topics or technologies, including ideas for further reading.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowComplete online access to McGraw-Hill's Engineering Handbooks.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowOffers a complete suite of clinical and educational content from leading books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAn online, multimedia encyclopedia and dictionary covering all major scientific disciplines.
- Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References This link opens in a new windowElectronic versions of popular reference books in engineering and applied sciences. Features access to books from many different publishers and includes reference handbooks and conference proceedings.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowOnline access to over 25,000 academic books published by Taylor & Francis and CRC Press.
Sources for Materials Information and Suppliers
- ASM (Metals) HandbookSeries 20 volumes of the ASM Handbook that provide practical information and data about the selection, processing, performance, and analysis of structural materials, especially metals and alloys.
- Encyclopedia of MaterialsShort articles covering all topics related to materials, including their applications, properties, and processing.
- MatWebDatabase of materials property data for over 135,000 materials. Select materials by name or designation, search for materials that meet your property requirements, or find metals based on their constituent elements.
- ThomasNetFind information on companies that supply specific materials.