- University of Michigan Library
- Research Guides
- Grey Literature
- Clinical Trials/Regulatory Data
Grey Literature
Why Search for Clinical Trials?
"Only 63% of results from abstracts describing randomized or controlled clinical trials are published in full. ’Positive’ results were more frequently published than not ’positive’ results."¹
Many of the resources on this page list clinical trials that are still in process. Having as much information as you can find about the positive and negative results of a trial will help you avoid bias in your research.
¹From the Plain Language Summary of: Scherer RW, Langenberg P, von Elm E. Full publication of results initially presented in abstracts. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2007, Issue 2. Art. No.: MR000005. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.MR000005.pub3.
Clinical Trials/Registered Research
- ALLTrialsAn international initiative to have all past & present clinical trials registered & their full methods & summary results reported.
- ISRCTN RegistrySearch across multiple trial registers, including the WHO Registry Network.
- CenterWatch Clinical TrialsOnline database of industry-sponsored global clinical trials actively seeking study volunteers.
- ClinicalTrials.govProvides information on U.S. government & privately funded clinical trials, including trials no longer recruiting patients.
- COMPARETracks switched outcomes in clinical trials.
- E.U. Clinical Trials RegisterInformation about clinical trials in the E.U. from the confidential, E.U. clinical trial database EudraCT.
- GSK Clinical Study RegisterProvides data from clinical studies sponsored by Glaxo-Smith-Kline.
- Interagency Pain Research Portfolio (IPRP)Provides information about pain research & training activities supported by the federal government.
- U.K. Clinical Research NetworkComprised of studies belonging to the UK.
There's an App for That!
Two apps let you search clinical trials using apps. cTrials is for Android 
only; Clinical Trials is for iOS 
only.
- cTrialsSearches ClinicalTrials.gov database.
- Clinical Trials MobileSearch the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of available clinical trials worldwide.
Regulatory Data
- Drugs @ FDAA searchable database of drug approval documents. Search tip: After searching for a drug, click on Approval History for more information.
- European Medicines AgencySearch Regulatory under the document advanced search.
- FDA 510(k) Premarket Notification Database (Medical Devices)Use to search for FDA medical device approval notifications
- FDA Advisory CommitteesSearchable database of committees and meeting materials. Search by drug name in Search Advisory Committees box.
- FDA MedWatchClinically important safety information & reports of serious problems with human medical products.