Research Guides: News Sources: Historical News Sources

Online newspaper archive list (Wikipedia)

List of online newspaper archives
Country by country list of online newspaper archives, including free and paid sources. Check for any paywalled content using library search or other links on this guide.

Library of Michigan news databases

The Library of Michigan provides access to several news and research databases to all Michigan residents and out-of-state students enrolled at Michigan colleges & universities.

Apply online at www.michigan.gov/librarycard
Includes access to NewspaperArchive.com and Newspapers.com; also Ancestry Library Edition, the Grand Rapids Press and more

Full Text Newspaper Sources

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Digitized microfilm images of the complete run of major U.S. newspapers, from first publication to more current years. Click on the i icon for more title and date details.
more...less...
ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of thirteen U.S. and seven international newspapers, including: seven major mainstream U.S. newspapers--Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), Detroit Free Press (1831-1922), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Times (1851-2008), Wall Street Journal (1889-1994), Washington Post (1877-1994); six major African American community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2003), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); five major British and Irish newspapers--The Guardian (1821-2003), The Observer (1791-2003), The Scotsman (1817-1950), and the Irish Times (1859-2008) and Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958); and a major newspaper of India--The Times of India (1838-2002)--and of Israel--Jerusalem Post (1932-1988). Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.
Times Digital Archive
A searchable online version of the Times of London from 1785-2006. It is possible to view individual articles or the entire page of the newspaper.
America's Historical Newspapers (Early American Newspapers)
Searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states, ranging from 1690 through the 20th century. Also includes Hispanic, Caribbean, and African American newspaper collections.
Chronicling America
A searchable database of a growing number of historical American newspapers from 1860-1922. It also includes information (but not full text) of American newspapers from 1690-present.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

African American Newspapers, 19th c.
A growing database of searchable text from the major African American newspapers published in the United States in the 19th century.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
This collection features papers from more than 35 U.S. states. It was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States—those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Includes hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers.
World Newspaper Archive
A growing collection of backfiles of historical newspapers from around the world. International titles are currently from: Latin America & the Caribbean (13), Sub-Saharan Africa (43), South Asia (7), and Eastern Europe (2). More titles are being added continuously. Eventually will also cover the Middle East, Southeast Asia, and Central Europe.

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, searchable access to more than 160 newspapers reflecting 18th- through 20th-century British culture and politics.

British Newspapers, 1600-1950
Searches both the 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century British Library Newspapers (48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain).
more...less...
Also available on microfilm at Serials/Microfilm Services on the second floor of the Graduate Library under the call number Film X1287.
Accessible Archives
A database which has a variety of primary historical sources and includes some newspapers such as the African American Newspapers and Hispanic American Newspapers collections mentioned above, the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), the Liberator (1831-1865) and a collection of South Carolina newspapers (1732-1780).
Nouveautés Presse et revues
Historical French newspapers available in Gallica, the Bibliotheque National de France digital library. Check the French History guide for additional sources of historic French newspapers at http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=24942&sid=179989.
Google News Archive
Searches content from a number of sources, including both partner content digitized by Google through their News Archive Partner Program and online archival materials that they've crawled. Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee--be sure to check the library catalog to see if the U-M Library provides access to a source before paying a fee for it.
more...less...
Articles related to a single story within a given time period are grouped together to allow users to see a broad perspective on the topics they are searching. In addition to seeing results ranked by relevancy, users can also see a historical overview of the results by browsing an automatically generated timeline.
Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project is composed of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida,Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama
This digital collection of microfilmed Confederate Newpapers is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. It contains 9,234 images sourced from the Western Reserve Historical Society.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Midwest Collection
Searchable archive of full-text and full-image articles from more than two dozen regional newspapers from Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin, and Indiana. Content is still being added to this database.

Individual Historical Newspaper Sources

Our large news databases often include long runs of many periodicals (always check for the exact date range), which you can then search individually or collectively. The ProQuest Historical Newspapers database has many prominent titles, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, the Boston Globe, Los Angeles Times, Globe and Mail (Toronto), and Chicago Tribune.

However, some periodical archives are sold as separate products - see a list of selected titles, below. This is not a comprehensive list! Check Library Search if you need a specific title.

Detroit Free Press
Covers 1831-1999. Searchable access to the backfile of the Detroit Free Press, in full page images digitized from microfilm.
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016
Searchable facsimile of the Financial Times from 1888-2016. Every article and advertisement is included.The microfilm version is available at the Kresge Business Library from 1980 to the present.
Google News Archive
A haphazard collection of newspapers digitized by Google. Some titles only include one or two issues while others have a much wider range of dates. Includes international newspapers.
Illustrated London News
Full facsimile of the illustrated newspaper from 1842-2003.
International Herald Tribune Historical Archive 1887-2013
Features the complete archive of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.
North China Herald
English language newspaper published in Shanghai from around 1850 to the 1940s.
Pravda Digital Archive
1912-1914, 1917-2009
The Lily
The first newspaper for women, published from 1849 to 1856.
Sunday Times Digital Archive
A searchable online version of the Sunday Times of London from 1822-2006. It is possible to view individual articles or the entire page of the newspaper.
Times Digital Archive
A searchable online version of the Times of London from 1785-2008. It is possible to view individual articles or the entire page of the newspaper.
Times of India, 1838-2004
Searchable database of page images, going back to 1838. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers collection.

The Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of Women's Wear Daily from first issue in 1910 to within past year: every page, article, advertisement and cover.